AP Archive
Welcome  Guest
Sign in or Register

 

Displaying 1 - 10 of 15 results

Entertainment Review 2002: Part 1
Title:
SD
Summary: Gwyneth Paltrow & Madonna Among Celebs At Versace Show
Story No: X04659
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 01/21/2002 12:00 AM
People: Gwyneth Paltrow, Chelsea Clinton, Ronnie Wood, Donatella Versace
Subscription:

327176

Entertainment Daily: Fashion

Gwyneth Paltrow & Madonna among celebs at Versace show

21/01/2002

EF02/0045

2:03

APTN

Paris, France. 19th January 2002

English/Nat

music on catwalks not cleared for use. replace with your own clearable music

1. Ext Of Theatre Nationale de Chaillot Pan to Eiffel Tower

2. Boy George Arrival Sot (English): (Reporter: Can you tell us tonight what you're going to be expecting from Versace) "Beauty!"

3. Arrival of Chelsea Clinton Sot (English): (Reporter: Hi Chelsea can you tell us what you are expecting from Versace tonight?) "It'll be amazing, I'm sure. Thank You."

4. Arrival of Rolling Stone bassist Ronnie Wood

5. Arrival Gwyneth Paltrow

6. Gwyneth poses for pictures

7. Madonna arrives with bodyguards

8. VS Versace catwalk show

9. Model on runway as Peta Protestor in black jacket storms the catwalk waving a banner "Fur kills Peta". Another protester arrives on other side of runway - both removed by security

10. Vs Versace Catwalk show

11. Finale

12. Donatella Versace on Catwalk.

STARS TURN OUT FOR VERSACE SHOW

MADONNA, GWYNETH PALTROW and BOY GEORGE were among the guests checking out the VERSACE fall collection in Paris on Saturday.

Madonna arrived late, in true diva style, with her entourage of bodyguards.

Chelsea Clinton and Rolling Stone Ronnie Wood also joined the crowd to see Donatella Versace's latest designs.

Not everyone is so impressed with Paris Fashion week however - PETA protestors took the opportunity to push their anti-fur message home, by storming the Versace catwalk. They waved a banner bearing the message 'fur kills' before security stepped in and removed them.

The show itself was full of bright colours and outrageous fabrics.

The Las Vegas style touches included hot-coloured stretch minis with geometric ribbon patterns and multi coloured sequin dresses.

The colours were mostly fluorescent or iridescent. Short and long dresses were plastered with crystals and sequin decorations.

Electric green draped dresses and a gown with electric green and pink embroidery probably pleased many saucy showgirls and stars.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Fashion shows, Apparel manufacturing, Celebrity, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment, Fashion shows, Fashion design, Fashion shows, Fashion, Beauty and fashion, Lifestyle, Textiles, apparel and accessories manufacturing, Consumer product manufacturing, Consumer products and services, Industries, Business
People: Gwyneth Paltrow, Chelsea Clinton, Ronnie Wood, Donatella Versace
Locations: Paris, Île-de-France, France
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2002: Part 2
Title:
SD
Summary: Madonna And Child Make Rare Public Appearance
Story No: X04660
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 01/30/2002 12:00 AM
People: Mario Testino, Mario Barrett, Helena Christensen, Matthew Williamson, Salman Rushdie, Guy Ritchie, Gwyneth Paltrow, Kate Moss, Ronnie Wood, Princess Diana
Subscription:

79950

328028

Entertainment Europe: UK Mario Testino Arrivals

Madonna and child make rare public appearance

30/01/2002

EF02/0071

1:15

APTN

29 January, London

English/Nat

No re-use/re-sale of photographs without clearance

1. EXT National Portrait Gallery

2. Mario Testino arrives

3. Helena Christensen arrives

4. Matthew Williamson arrives

5. Salman Rushdie arrives

6. Madonna and Guy Ritchie arrive with Lourdes

7. Gwyneth Paltrow arrives

8. Kate Moss arrives

9. Ronnie Wood arrives

STARS PAY HOMAGE TO SUPER MARIO

Madonna took the rare step of bringing her daughter Lourdes out in public when she joined other celebrities to celebrate the opening of a London exhibition by fashion photographer Mario Testino.

Five-year-old Lourdes features in at least one of Testino's photos of Madonna.

The mother and daughter mixed with a host of other stars including models Helena Christensen and Kate Moss, fashion designer Matthew Williamson and Hollywood actress Gwyneth Paltrow at the launch at the National Portrait Gallery in London's West End last night.

The exhibition brings together more than 120 color and black-and-white pictures by Testino, who was Princess Diana's favorite fashion photographer.

Images taken of Diana shortly before she died will be shown alongside portraits of icons from fashion, film and music. There are also special sections devoted to images of Madonna, Kate Moss and Gwyneth Paltrow.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Rhythm and blues, Celebrity, Celebrity fashion, Art photography, Music, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment, Celebrity fashion, Fashion design, Visual arts
People: Mario Testino, Mario Barrett, Helena Christensen, Matthew Williamson, Salman Rushdie, Guy Ritchie, Gwyneth Paltrow, Kate Moss, Ronnie Wood, Princess Diana
Locations: London, England, United Kingdom, Western Europe, Europe
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2002: Part 3
Title:
SD
Summary: Will Smith meets Nelson Mandela at SA premiere of "Ali"
Story No: X04661
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 03/04/2002 12:00 AM
People: Nelson Mandela, Michael Mann, Michael Bay, Muhammad Ali, George Foreman, Jon Voight, Jamie Foxx
Subscription:

331178

Entertainment Europe: Will Smith In SA

Will Smith meets Nelson Mandela at SA premiere of "Ali"

04/03/2002

EF02/0180

04:05

APTN

Johannesburg, South Africa. 3rd February 2002.

English/Nat

1. Ws venue

2. VS 'Ali' posters inside

3. Will Smith & son arrival

4. Nelson Mandela Arrival

5. Pull Out from Nelson Mandela & Will Smith posing for pictures

6. Cutaway audience

7. WS Nelson Mandela on stage

8. Sot Nelson Mandela (on Ali) (English): "I'm very happy indeed to be here to join you in paying tribute to my hero and the hero of millions right across the seas."

9. WS Will Smith on stage

10. Sot Will Smith (continuing Mandela's work) (English): "He said 'you know Will I am getting old and when I'm gone who will continue the work?' and at that moment I was sitting there and you want to say 'damn it I'm going to do it, I want to do it'. I will say to President Mandela that the inspiration that you have given to me and to people around the world, you can rest assured that your work and commitment will live on forever, your work will continue."

11. Cutaway Nelson Mandela

12. Will Smith holds up a signed copy of Mandela's autobiography, 'Long Walk To Freedom' - for auction in aid of Nelson Mandela Children's Fund

13. Cutaway audience

14. Will Smith takes the book to people in the audience

15.Cutaway audience

16. Various auction of photo of Mandela and Ali.

17. Various Smith buying the photo

18. Smith talking to the photo's handlers

19. Various of Smith acting as auctioneer

20. Sot Will Smith - "I just love it here, I've been looking for a house, you know spend a couple of months out of every year, I have just got to get my wife here to look around. She is in Australia working on 'the Matrix 2 and 3'. As soon as I can get here we are going to see if we can find a place." Sot Question - "So rumours that you are buying a house is correct." Sot Will Smith - "Absolutely."

21. Wide Shot press conference

22. Sot Michael Mann - "I don't get a film made necessarily, my films don't make 100s of millions of dollars at the box office Michael Bay's do, mine don't. Another reason this film got made Will and I co-financed part of it ourselves, we basically worked for free for two years to get the picture made."

23. Will Smith in hotel corridors

NELSON MANDELA MEETS 'ALI' STAR WILL SMITH

US superstar WILL SMITH charmed South African fans at the weekend on his visit to the country for the premiere of 'ALI', which tells the story of boxing legend Muhammad Ali.

Smith also met former president Nelson Mandela during the trip when he headed an auction of memorabilia from 'Ali' to raise funds for Mandela's charity. He entertained crowds by taking over from the auctioneer and even joked that he did a better job of it himself.

Boundlessly energetic and effervescent Smith won more hearts when he announced that he plans to move to South Africa.

"I just love it here, I've been looking for a house, you know spend a couple of months out of every year, I have just got to get my wife here to look around. She is in Australia working on 'the Matrix 2 and 3'. As soon as I can get here we are going to see if we can find a place."

Smith has received an Oscar nomination for his portrayal of Ali, which focuses on the boxer's prime, from his Cassius Clay days in 1964 when he wins the heavyweight crown from Sonny Liston, through his return to glory 10 years later as he reclaims the championship from George Foreman at the 'Rumble in the Jungle' in Zaire.

The film also looks at his friendship with Malcolm X, his time in the wasteland as a Vietnam draft resister and his struggles with Muslim chauvinism in relation to the women in his life.

Smith was accompanied to South Africa by director Michael Mann.

The film also stars Oscar nominated Jon Voight, unrecognizably made-up as sportscaster Howard Cosell and Jamie Foxx in a surprisingly rich turn as troubled Ali aide Drew "Bundini" Brown.

Ali has special significance for the South African film industry as a number of South Africans worked on the film when parts of it was shot in Maputo.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Men's boxing, Boxing, Men's sports, Sports, Men's boxing, Government and politics
People: Nelson Mandela, Michael Mann, Michael Bay, Muhammad Ali, George Foreman, Jon Voight, Jamie Foxx
Organisations: South Africa government
Locations: Johannesburg South, Gauteng, South Africa
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2002: Part 4
Title:
SD
Summary: Minnelli Madness Grips New York As Star Weds For Fourth Time (A)
Story No: X04662
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 03/17/2002 12:00 AM
People: Liza Minnelli, Alan Cumming, Donald Trump, Mia Farrow, Rosie O'Donnell, Robert Goulet, Brian May, Michael Jackson, Mickey Rooney, David Gest, Anthony Hopkins, Michael Douglas, Elton John, Gina Lollobrigida, Joan Collins, Roberta Flack, Elizabeth Taylor, Marisa Berenson, Anthony Franciosa, Robert Wagner, Janet Leigh, Petula Clark, Jack Haley Jr., Mark Gero, Judy Garland, Vincente Minnelli
Subscription:

332560

Entertainment Europe: Liza Minnelli weds

Minnelli madness grips New York as star weds for fourth time

17/03/2002

EF02/0224

5:32

APTN

New York. March 16, 2002

English/Nat

1. Pan of Regent Wall Street Hotel entrance

2. Congratulations poster

3. Limousine arrival, guests in foreground

4. Alan Cummings gives V-sign

5. Spotlights at hotel entrance

6. WS red carpet

7. MS security system

8. Limo arriving

9. VS Donald Trump arriving

10. CA press

11. Pull out to SOT (English) Donald Trump, Wedding Guest: "The wedding was beautiful and she looked very beautiful. (Q: Was she happy?) I think so. I can't get inside her head but I think so. (Q: Was it one of the nicest wedding you've been to?) Yeah, this was really beautiful and it was fun, she looked just lovely."

12. SOT Mia Farrow:" She looked stunning and we just have wish them every happiness."

13. CA Rosie O'Donnell

14. SOT Rosie O'Donnell :'It was absolutely wonderful. She looked beautiful. Andy Williams, Micky Ronney, Cindy Adams, what else do you need? I wish them all the happiness of the world. I wish them all the happiness of the world'"

15. BS David Hasssellhoff

16. Wide of actor Robert Goulet

17. SOT(English) Robert Goulet, Wedding Guest: "We very happy for them both. I think it's a great marriage, it's a good union, and we are looking for many happy years for them in the future."

18. Wide of actor Sir Antony Hopkins

19. CA red carpet

20. Reverse shot Queen guitarist Brian May with wife Angie Dobson

21. SOT (English) Brian May, Wedding Guest:

"Fantastic, very beautiful, very tastefully done. (Q: What do you wish for the couple) Long life, health, happiness, everything they deserve."

22.SOT Billy Gilman, singer: 'Oh, it was fabulous. It was really great. I'm ready. I'm nervous. But singing for Michael Jackson and Liza and David...But they're good friends, Liza and David..I am going to be performing a song that I actually sang at the Micheal Jackson's special which David produced. Ben."

22. MS Mickey Rooney, veteran actor

23. CA press

24. Zoom into wealthy New York socialite Denise Rich

25. SOUNDBITE: (English) Denise Rich:

"The love that surrounds them. I think that was the most amazing thing, when everybody was clapping, and so happy for them, praying for them...They were just radiating. It was just beautiful."

LIZA'S FRIENDS AND FANS SHARE HER WEDDING JOY

Guests at LIZA MINNELLI's fourth wedding said she danced at the altar as a bevy of celebrities helped her and producer DAVID GEST celebrate their nuptials.

The crowd outside Marble Collegiate Church screamed as the newlyweds slipped out a side door.

A limousine waited to take them to a reception with an eclectic and glittering guest list.

It featured such showbiz legends A-list stars as actors

ANTHONY HOPKINS and MICHAEL DOUGLAS, rocker ELTON JOHN and GINA LOLLOBRIGIDA.

Others arriving in limos, Rolls-Royces and even yellow

cabs were celebrities such as JOAN COLLINS, ROBERTA FLACK and ROBERT GOULET.

"This was one of the most thrilling weddings I've ever been to," veteran actor MICKEY ROONEY told reporters and photographers as fans watched from across the street.

Elizabeth Taylor and actress Marisa Berenson were maids of honour. Jackson and his brother TITO, childhood friends of Gest, were best men. The bridal party was to include actors Tony Franciosa and Robert Wagner, actresses Mia Farrow, Janet Leigh, and Gina Lollobrigida, and singers Petula Clark and Michael Mcdonald.

Curious New Yorkers observed from rooftops and apartment windows.

Saturday's wedding extravaganza had promised more excess than Minnelli's first three combined.

"Liza's Nutty Nuptials," proclaimed a headline in the New York Post.

The bride and groom were introduced by Jackson last year when Minnelli appeared in Gest's television production of 'Michael Jackson: 30th Anniversary Special.'

Minnelli was wed previously to entertainer Peter Allen (1967-72), producer Jack Haley Jr. (1974-79), and stage manager/sculptor Mark Gero (1979-92).

Minnelli, who turned 56 on Tuesday, will honeymoon in Thailand. Afterward, the daughter of Judy Garland and director Vincente Minnelli will launch a European tour that kicks off with five shows in London.

For Minnelli, the wedding marks a personal comeback. Early last year, she nearly died after a battle with encephalitis. She was severely overweight and worried she might never sing again.

The bride was expected to be 90 pounds (40 kilograms) lighter when she put on the long, custom-made gown. And she credited her future husband, 48, with getting her back into shape -which has not always been easy for Minnelli, winner of an Academy Award, an Emmy, two Golden Globes and three Tony Awards.

The marriage, at the 147-year-old Marble Collegiate Church on New York's Fifth Avenue, was the first for Gest, 48.

In an interview with Britain's OK! magazine, which bought exclusive rights to cover the wedding, Broadway producer Gest said he and Minnelli planned to adopt four children.

He told the magazine: "We are going to spend half the year living in France just outside Paris, where we will raise our children. "We are adopting four children... of all races, a black child, a white child... it doesn't matter at all.

"Liza is going to be the best mother in the world. She has the greatest heart of anyone I've ever met,"

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Celebrity, Celebrity weddings, Music, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment, Celebrity relationships
People: Liza Minnelli, Alan Cumming, Donald Trump, Mia Farrow, Rosie O'Donnell, Robert Goulet, Brian May, Michael Jackson, Mickey Rooney, David Gest, Anthony Hopkins, Michael Douglas, Elton John, Gina Lollobrigida, Joan Collins, Roberta Flack, Elizabeth Taylor, Marisa Berenson, Anthony Franciosa, Robert Wagner, Janet Leigh, Petula Clark, Jack Haley Jr., Mark Gero, Judy Garland, Vincente Minnelli
Locations: New York, Jackson, United States, North America, Mississippi
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2002: Part 5
Title:
SD
Summary: Minnelli Madness Grips New York As Star Weds For Fourth Time (B)
Story No: X04663
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 03/17/2002 12:00 AM
People: Petula Clark, Liza Minnelli, Elton John, Judy Garland, Joan Collins, Kirk Douglas, Mickey Rooney, Dionne Warwick, Robert Goulet, Michael Jackson, Gina Lollobrigida, Michael Douglas, Anthony Hopkins, Elizabeth Taylor, Paul Sorvino, Robert Wagner, Mia Farrow, Roberta Flack
Subscription:

332560

Entertainment Europe: Liza Minnelli weds

Minnelli madness grips New York as star weds for fourth time

17/03/2002

EF02/0224

5:32

APTN

New York. March 16, 2002

English/Nat

26. MS Joan Collins, actress, with new husband Percy Gibson

27. SOT Joan Collins: 'The wedding was lovely. It was almost as good as ours, a month ago.'

28. PAN hotel entrance

29. SOT Dionne Warwick, singer: "When the minister said I now pronounce you man and wife, that was the best part."

30. MS Helena Christensen, top model with partner

31. SOT Helena Christensen: "The moment when they of course kissed and kissed and kissed, cause they kissed a lot. After they exchanged rings and then they made beautiful speeches to each other. And just thinking of all the people that were in there, the immense amount of talented artists was also quite something."

32. SOT Roberta Flack, singer: 'It was very emotional, very passionate, lots of passion. It didn't sound scripted, it didn't sound like somebody said, you know, Liza you're a show woman star, David you are a great entrepreneur, we want you to say this..it was all from the heart. I mean they were a lot of tears, you could hear the sniffling. It was really beautiful, quite beautiful."

33. MS valet boy directing the cars

34. SOT Tito Jackson, singer (Jackson Five):' It was a beautiful moment. It was a great thing to see two people in love, very sincere. The kiss was the highlight."

35. MS valet boy directing the limos

36. Pull out Paul Sorvino, actor, opera singer

37. MS Kirk Douglas, actor

38. SOT Kirk Douglas: ' What everyone has. What everyone wants...happiness.' 39. CA New York police officers

39. SOT Gina Lollobrigida, actress: "I wish that they will be happy for ever. It is very rare to see a happy. long, happy marriage...so what I wish to them, is a very long marriage."

40. MS newlyweds Liza Minnelli and David Gest arrive at the hotel.

41. VS Minnelli and Gest walking down the red carpet

42. SOT David Gest: 'We had a great time. Great wedding.'

43. SOT Liza Minnelli: 'Great'

44. MS Liza Minnelli with David Gest waving fans.

LIZA'S FRIENDS AND FANS SHARE HER WEDDING JOY

Guests at LIZA MINNELLI's fourth wedding said she danced at the altar as a bevy of celebrities helped her and producer DAVID GEST celebrate their nuptials.

The crowd outside Marble Collegiate Church screamed as the newlyweds slipped out a side door.

A limousine waited to take them to a reception with an eclectic and glittering guest list.

It featured such showbiz legends A-list stars as actors

ANTHONY HOPKINS and MICHAEL DOUGLAS, rocker ELTON JOHN and GINA LOLLOBRIGIDA.

Others arriving in limos, Rolls-Royces and even yellow

cabs were celebrities such as JOAN COLLINS, ROBERTA FLACK and ROBERT GOULET.

"This was one of the most thrilling weddings I've ever been to," veteran actor MICKEY ROONEY told reporters and photographers as fans watched from across the street.

Elizabeth Taylor and actress Marisa Berenson were maids of honour. Jackson and his brother TITO, childhood friends of Gest, were best men. The bridal party was to include actors Tony Franciosa and Robert Wagner, actresses Mia Farrow, Janet Leigh, and Gina Lollobrigida, and singers Petula Clark and Michael Mcdonald.

Curious New Yorkers observed from rooftops and apartment windows.

Saturday's wedding extravaganza had promised more excess than Minnelli's first three combined.

"Liza's Nutty Nuptials," proclaimed a headline in the New York Post.

The bride and groom were introduced by Jackson last year when Minnelli appeared in Gest's television production of 'Michael Jackson: 30th Anniversary Special.'

Minnelli was wed previously to entertainer Peter Allen (1967-72), producer Jack Haley Jr. (1974-79), and stage manager/sculptor Mark Gero (1979-92).

Minnelli, who turned 56 on Tuesday, will honeymoon in Thailand. Afterward, the daughter of Judy Garland and director Vincente Minnelli will launch a European tour that kicks off with five shows in London.

For Minnelli, the wedding marks a personal comeback. Early last year, she nearly died after a battle with encephalitis. She was severely overweight and worried she might never sing again.

The bride was expected to be 90 pounds (40 kilograms) lighter when she put on the long, custom-made gown. And she credited her future husband, 48, with getting her back into shape -which has not always been easy for Minnelli, winner of an Academy Award, an Emmy, two Golden Globes and three Tony Awards.

The marriage, at the 147-year-old Marble Collegiate Church on New York's Fifth Avenue, was the first for Gest, 48.

In an interview with Britain's OK! magazine, which bought exclusive rights to cover the wedding, Broadway producer Gest said he and Minnelli planned to adopt four children.

He told the magazine: "We are going to spend half the year living in France just outside Paris, where we will raise our children. "We are adopting four children... of all races, a black child, a white child... it doesn't matter at all.

"Liza is going to be the best mother in the world. She has the greatest heart of anyone I've ever met,"

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Hotels and resorts, Children, Accommodations, Travel, Lifestyle, Celebrity children, Entertainment, Celebrity
People: Petula Clark, Liza Minnelli, Elton John, Judy Garland, Joan Collins, Kirk Douglas, Mickey Rooney, Dionne Warwick, Robert Goulet, Michael Jackson, Gina Lollobrigida, Michael Douglas, Anthony Hopkins, Elizabeth Taylor, Paul Sorvino, Robert Wagner, Mia Farrow, Roberta Flack
Locations: Jackson
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2002: Part 6
Title:
SD
Summary: Winona Ryder Court Appearance
Story No: X04664
Source: APTN, Pool
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 06/14/2002 12:00 AM
People: Winona Ryder
Subscription:

341647

Entertainment Americas: US Winona Ryder Arraignment

Winona Ryder court appearance

14/06/2002

EF02/0508

2:54

APTN/Pool

Beverly Hills California 14/6/02

English/Nat

Beverly Hills, California 14 June 2002

1. Wide shot Beverly Hills Courthouse

2. Mid-shot satellite trucks

3. Tight shot 'Beverly Hills Courthouse' sign

4. Pull out from Sheriff's badge

5. Winona Ryder's car arriving (she's in back seat)

6. Shot of Winona walking through security (shot through window)

7. POOL: Photographers pressed against window

8. POOL: Winona walking through security

9. Set-up shots Sandi Gibbons, Public Information Officer for the Los Angeles County District Attorneys Office

10. SOT: (English) Sandi Gibbons "Winona Ryder was arraigned today on an information charging her with grand theft burglary, felony vandalism and a drug violation. She entered a not-guilty plea and the next court date was scheduled for July 15th at which time there may be an argument on the defense motion for reccusal of the District Attorney's office that will only happen if the Attorney General's office gets served papers by the defense in a timely matter, so it can prepare. Otherwise, the next courtdate is for

pre-trial and trial setting. At this point in time - because Miss Ryder hasn't waved time there would be a tentative trial date set for August 15th.

11. Wide shot press conference

WINONA RYDER ARRAIGNMENT

Winona Ryder says she's not guilty but a judge in Beverly Hills says there's enough evidence against her to go to trial.

The Oscar nominated actress showed up for an arraignment on Friday where she pled not guilty to charges of grand theft, commercial burglary, felony vandalism and a drug violation.

Ryder was stopped by security guards at Saks Fifth Avenue in Beverly Hills in December after allegedly trying to walk out with some 6-thousand U-S dollars worth of goods.

She was also allegedly spotted cutting security tags off a number of items whilst in a changing room.

After being stopped by security - guards found prescription pain killers in her handbag that were not prescribed to her.

Other items found on her person that she is alleged to have stolen are numerous women's hair accessories, handbags and various items of women's clothing.

The actress's attorney - Mark Garagos - is accusing the District Attorneys office of being 'overzealous' and picking on Ryder who is currently free on $20-thousand U-S bail.

The District Attorney is already expecting Ryder's attorney to file a motion for recusal - which, if approved, would mean another court would hear her case.

Garagos believes this court is pre-prejudiced against the actress.

The court information officer says recusals are not rare - but are rarely approved.

Ryder's next court date is July 15th.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Celebrity legal affairs, Legal proceedings, Vandalism, Theft, Celebrity, Burglary, Crime, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment, Law and order, General news
People: Winona Ryder
Locations: Beverly Hills, California, United States
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2002: Part 7
Title:
SD
Summary: J. Lo Launches Her New Fragrance
Story No: X04665
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 07/01/2002 12:00 AM
People: Jennifer Lopez
Subscription:

343435

Entertainment Americas: Jennifer Lopez perfume-Lo perfume

J. Lo launches her new fragrance.

01/07/2002

EF02/0558

2:34

APTN

Recent

English/Nat

1. B roll Jennifer Lopez in standing and chatting.

2. More B roll of Lopez chatting.

3. B roll of GLOW Fragrance.

4. B roll of GLOW Fragrance.

5. B roll of GLOW Fragrance.

6. B roll of Lopez at the party.

7. Cutaway of women at the party.

8. SOT: Jennifer Lopez - "I 'm very excited to have you here tonight as we unveil my new fragrance. I wanted to take just a couple of minutes to say a few words about what we created. As we developed this fragrance, I wanted women to wear it kind of effortlessly. You know, I wanted it to be fresh, I wanted it to be clean and of course, I wanted it to be sexy. I wanted this fragrance to embody the things that make women glow. Things like femininity and happiness and confidence and sensuality and I am very, very thrilled with the results. I think you guys are going to like it. Glow represents all the things in my life that make me happy. You know, scent can do that for you. Things that make me smile, things that make me feel warm and things that make me glow."

9. SOT: Bernd Beetz (C.E.O. Coty Inc.) - "So, the fragrance development is a very complex development. There's a lot of force going back and forth. And she was always available, for each of the crossroads, for each development stage, she was there. Accessible, available and that gave us the chance, really, to get her into the project, to make her really reflect, in the project, what she wanted to do."

10. B roll of Jennifer Lopez.

11. B roll of a bartender pouring champagne.

12. B roll of fireworks.

JENNIFER LOPEZ LAUNCHES FRAGRANCE

Singer, actress, dancer and fashion designer Jennifer Lopez hopes to have yet another hit this summer - with the launch of her first fragrance Glow by JLO in New York.

To celebrate the launch, the pop queen and perfume-makers Lancaster Group were joined by 200 guests for a lavish dinner and private party in a private apartment on the 90th Floor of Manhattan's Trump World Tower.

The event went off with a bang, as a massive fireworks display lit up the Manhattan sky with the words Glow by JLO.

The launch marks the star's first foray into the fragrance market. This first product - fragrance, bottle and packaging - has been developed with creative input from Jennifer herself and she will feature in the advertising.

The line is set for launch in autumn 2002 and will be sold all over the world.

It follows the recent successful launch of the singer's clothes range, "The JLO Line".

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Personal care, Fragrances, Beauty and fashion, Lifestyle
People: Jennifer Lopez
Locations: New York City, New York, United States, North America
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2002: Part 8
Title:
SD
Summary: Austin Powers Creator Gets Star On Hollywood Boulevard
Story No: X04666
Source: APTN, New Line Cinema
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 07/25/2002 12:00 AM
People: Mike Myers, Robert Wagner, Dave MacKenzie, Jeffrey Katzenberg
Subscription:

345527

Entertainment Europe: Mike Myers 2

Austin Powers creator gets star on Hollywood Boulevard

25/07/2002

EF02/0627

2:04

APTN/New Line Cinema

Los Angeles. July 24, 2002

English/Nat

1 Various: Myers unveiling star with wife

2. Myers posing with Robert Wagner

3. Myers posing on his own

4. Shot of star

5. SOT Mike Myers - "I want to thank my closest friend Dave MacKenzie, here he is of course, my best friend of many years. I want to thank my family. I want to thank my brothers Peter and Paul for keeping me inspired!.Okay my dad and my mother - I thank you very much. I know that I talk about my dad a lot in interviews, being an inspiration for Austin Powers but you've been a constant inspiration my whole life, thank you very much mom. Thank you."

6. Cutaway Mike Myers mother, Alice

7. SOT Mike Myers - "It's just nice. My whole family came down from Toronto and so, you know, it's a huge event. There's - when you want to be - when you're eleven, twelve and you want to be an actor there are no guarantees that you are going to get a job or do anything like that so to see a star on the walk of fame is huge!"

8. Myers signing autographs

9. SOT Alice Myers - "It's fantastic, unbelievable! (What was he like as a little boy? Can you believe this is happening?) Sort of - he was always outstanding!"

COMEDY HERO IS STAR STRUCK

Mike Myers' place in comedy and Hollywood history has been set in stone.

On Wednesday the 'Austin Powers' creator choked back tears as a dream came true when he unveiled his own star on the Hollywood Boulevard.

Fittingly sited outside the Love Boutique - an erotic goods store - Myers unveiled his star in the company of Dreamworks boss Jeffrey Katzenberg and his on-screen Number Two Robert Wagner.

On hand, too, for the unveiling was Mike's wife Robin and his mother, Alice, among other family members.

Myers beloved Father, Eric, died in 1991 from complications with Alzheimers.

Myers was born in 1963 in Scarborough, Canada to British parents.

This probably helps explain his love of all things British.

On the day he graduated for high school he auditioned and got into the famed comedy improvisation group - Second City.

From there he moved on to star on Saturday Night Live for six years.

During his tenure with the late night comedy show he created some of the comedy world's most recognized characters including Wayne and Garth, and Dieter the German talk show host.

By the time 'Wayne's World' became a box office success Myers had left Saturday Night Live and penned a little script in three weeks for a movie called 'Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery.'

His salary has leapt from just about nothing in his early comedy days to 25-million U-S dollars plus 21% of the gross from 'Austin Powers in Goldmember'.

In total - his films have grossed nearly 750-million U-S dollars to date.

Now that's something to swing about, baby!

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
People: Mike Myers, Robert Wagner, Dave MacKenzie, Jeffrey Katzenberg
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2002: Part 9
Title:
SD
Summary: 'N Sync singer begins NASA Training For Space Trip
Story No: X04667
Source: US NASA
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 08/28/2002 12:00 AM
People: Lance Bass
Subscription:

348445

Entertainment: Lance Bass

'N Sync singer begins NASA training for space trip

28/08/2002

EF02/0726

2:56

US NASA

Houston, 28 August 2002

Eng/Nat

1, B-roll Lance Bass (white shirt) entering training capsule

2, VS B-roll Bass having training process explained to him

3, VS More of training capsule

4, VS Bass in different training capsule

5, VS Photo shoot of Bass and astronauts

'N SYNC BEGINS NASA TRAINING FOR SPACE TRIP

'N Sync singer Lance Bass is a step closer to his dream of becoming a space tourist, after winning the endorsement of NASA and other space agencies Tuesday.

After 1� months of debating Bass' qualifications, NASA and the other space station partners signed off on his trip.

In July, the Russian Space Agency submitted Bass' name for one of three seats on a rocket scheduled to blast off from Kazakhstan in the autumn.

A panel representing NASA and the space agencies of Russia, Japan, Europe and Canada signed off Tuesday on Bass' participation after weeks of telephone conferences to discuss his background and qualifications.

Despite the singer's on-off status over the past several months, NASA politely agreed to accept Bass for a week of space station training at Johnson Space Center, to help his bid to fly to the international space station this autumn.

Bass is learning alongside a Russian and a Belgian assigned to the lifeboat-swapping mission scheduled for a Kazakhstan liftoff on 28th October.

The three men arrived on Monday after working together at cosmonaut headquarters in Star City, Russia.

If he makes it into orbit, the pop star would become the world's third paying space tourist and the youngest person ever in space.

The stodgy, middle-aged NASA is jumping on the 'N Sync singer's bandwagon, and upping its kid-appeal in the process- even though not everyone is thrilled about Russia's bid to send a 23-year-old with barely a high school education to the international space station .

Bass may not be the most scientifically savvy or most experienced guy to go through space training. But he certainly is one of the most artistic and definitely the most appealing to the hard-to-impress, under-20 crowd.

But before Bass can be considered a fully-fledged member of Russia's next crew, TV producers need to wrap up a deal with the cash-strapped Russian space programme.

Unlike the first two space tourists, California businessman Dennis Tito and South African Internet tycoon Mark Shuttleworth, Bass is rounding up corporate sponsors to pay his fare.

A round-trip ticket to the space station on a Russian spacecraft costs as much as 20 million dollars (US). Haggling over the deal has been going on for months.

A Los Angeles production company has plans for a TV show following Bass' space adventures.

But Bass is likely to feel his plans are going well after Tuesday's news.

NASA spokesperson Debra Rahn said "They've agreed that Mr Bass meets the criteria and is suitable as a crew member"

The recommendation has been forwarded to a board of high-ranking space agency officials who will review Bass' candidacy and issue a final ruling in September, Rahn said.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Manned spacecraft, Educational services, Space industry, Space tour operators, Space tourism, Spacecraft, Space technology, Aerospace technology, Industrial technology, Technology, Business and professional services, Industries, Business, Aerospace and defense, Industrial products and services, Leisure travel, Travel, Lifestyle
People: Lance Bass
Organisations: National Aeronautics and Space Administration, United States government
Locations: Houston, Texas, United States
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2002: Part 10
Title:
SD
Summary: Buffy Weds Scooby Doo Co-Star Freddie Prinze Jnr
Story No: X04668
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 09/03/2002 12:00 AM
People: Freddie Prinze, Sarah Michelle Gellar
Subscription:

348979

Entertainment: US Sarah Michelle Gellar

Buffy weds Scooby Doo co-star Freddie Prinze Jnr

03/09/2002

EF02/0744

1:20

APTN

File

English/Nat

1. Sarah Michelle Gellar on set of 'Harvard Man' (APTN File)

3. Freddie Prinze Junior at premiere of 'Boys and Girls' (APTN File)

4. Freddie and Gellar at the Nickelodeon Awards, April 2002 (APTN File)

5. Freddie and Gellar at the Scooby Doo Premiere, June 2002, (APTN File)

BUFFY TIES THE KNOT

'Buffy' star Sarah Michelle Geller, 25, and her long term love Freddy Prince Junior, 26, tied the knot yesterday on a Mexican clifftop.

The pair, who met five years ago on the set of horror spoof 'I Know What You Did Last Summer', got engaged last April and were rumoured to have married in Las Vegas in July.

Following much media speculation, the real wedding took place at a secluded estate near the exclusive Puerto Vallarta resort in Mexico.

The five star resort was rented exclusively for the couple and their family and friends.

Freddie has made his name with a string of successful teen hits including 'She's All That', 'Boys and Girls' and 'Head Over Heels'. He also co-starred with Geller in the summer hit 'Scooby Doo'.

Geller has also starred in other big screen ventures such as 'Cruel Intentions' and 'Scream 2'

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Celebrity weddings, Celebrity relationships, Celebrity, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment
People: Freddie Prinze, Sarah Michelle Gellar
Locations: Mexico, North America, Mexico, Central America, Latin America and Caribbean
Show story thumbnails

Displaying 1 - 10 of 15 results

 
Share Story
 
*
*
*
 

You have successfully shared item(s).
Share
Cancel
Close
 
Message Box

OK
No
Yes