AP Archive
Welcome  Guest
Sign in or Register

 

Displaying 1 - 10 of 37 results

Entertainment Review 2005: Part 1
Title:
SD
Summary: Green Day
Story No: X02837
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 12/01/2004 12:00 AM
People: Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt
Subscription:

SHOTLIST

1. SOUNDBITE (English) Billie Joe Armstrong: "well for us it always starts with punk rock, I mean we definitely want to expand on the idea, be individuals and be musicians and we've always known that we've had the chops to play different styles or change the dynamics of the way we play and so it's great."

2. SOUNDBITE (English) Billie Joe Armstrong: "it's nice to get recognised for what you do, I mean we've had really great success and it's been ten years after Dookie, so it's that much sweeter, but it's nice to be recognised for what you do, and even though I feel we have been recognised for what we do just because of the reaction that we're getting out of this album. So I don't know we'll see what happens and if it's a Grammy nom then we'll definitely be grateful for it."

3. SOUNDBITE (English) Tr� Cool: "the video for American Idiot was Sam Bear, he's a great director, he did Smells Like Teen Spirit, as well as American Idiot, but we wanted to make a performance type video that nobody's ever seen before, we didn't know how or what and then we met with Sam and he said, 'I want to make a performance video that no one's ever seen before'."

4. SOUNDBITE (English) Mike Dirnt: "he wanted to have this sort of patterned look, where he wanted the flag behind us and our only real suggestion in it was that we change the colours of the flag because... So it can be construed or interpreted in a bunch of different ways, it could be looked at oil or it could be looked at as your individuality draining off the flag or as the colours run down, sometimes the colours do bleed."

5. SOUNDBITE (English) Billie Joe Armstrong: "we've gotten to know a lot of those bands whether it's Newfound Glory, Good Charlotte, Simple Plan, those guys are really cool and now they're sort of going in a new direction with their career too; they're challenging their new sound on their new albums and they're trying to broaden out a little bit more. So if anything, if there's bands that want to sound like Green Day it's not just for the early records that we've done but challenge yourself and take on your own sound too."

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Pop music, Music, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment
People: Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt
Locations: New York, New York, United States
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2005: Part 2
Title:
SD
Summary: Donald Trump Wedding
Story No: X02838
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 01/18/2005 12:00 AM
People: Donald Trump, Ivana Trump, Prince Charles, Camilla Parker-Bowles, Bruce Willis, Elton John, Oprah Winfrey, Liza Minnelli, Muhammad Ali
Subscription:

SHOTLIST

File New York. May 9, 2003 1.

1. Donald Trump with Melania Knauss (slow motion)

Paris. October 5, 2004

2. Christian Dior show with John Galiano

New York. 1997

3. Donald and Ivana Trump

New York. September 22, 2002

4. Ivana Trump

London. November 2004

5. Prince Charles and Camilla Parker Bowles

Los Angeles. January 16, 2005

6. P.Diddy

Los Angeles. April 2004

7. Bruce Willis

London. November 2004

8. Elton John

Los Angeles. 2002

9. Oprah Winfrey

London. January 2004

10. Liza Minnelli

Frankfurt. October 2003

11. Muhammad Ali

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Entertainment, Weddings, Arts and entertainment, Occasions, Lifestyle
People: Donald Trump, Ivana Trump, Prince Charles, Camilla Parker-Bowles, Bruce Willis, Elton John, Oprah Winfrey, Liza Minnelli, Muhammad Ali
Locations: London, England, United Kingdom, Western Europe, Europe
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2005: Part 3
Title:
SD
Summary: Arthur Miller Dies
Story No: X02839
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/11/2005 12:00 AM
People: Arthur Miller, Inge Morath, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Garcia Marquez, Fidel Castro
Subscription:

SHOTLIST

APTN Havana, Cuba 16th March 2000

2. Arthur Miller (in striped shirt) and Mort Janklow (blue shirt) walking in Old Havana

3. SOUNDBITE: (English) Arthur Miller, playwright: "I think it's time to recreate relations (with Cuba). These are some very energetic and inventive people and I think we can help regain their standing in the world and maybe a freer society, if we didn't cut them off this way."

4. Miller with vintage cars

5. Miller walking with wife Inge Morath

6. Miller with Gabriel Garcia Marquez outside Hemingway's house

7. SOUNDBITE: (English) Arthur Miller, playwright Q: What was your meeting like with Fidel Castro "Oh, interesting conversation..." Q: Could you give us some idea of what you spoke about? "Oh, he talked about everything in the world."

8. Garcia Marquez UPSOUND: (Spanish) "Everything in the world!"

9. Miller signs visitors book

APTN Los Angeles 22 November 1996 Crucible Premiere

10. Arthur Miller

11. SOUNDBITE: (English) Arthur Miller "I guess it's partly political, people feared it, and partly the expense of doing it, it's a big production. And partly the language , they felt that the language was not something that everybody would understand. But of course they do understand it, quite easily."

12. Arthur Miller

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Plays, Theater, Performing arts, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment
People: Arthur Miller, Inge Morath, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Garcia Marquez, Fidel Castro
Locations: Cuba, Havana, Caribbean, Latin America and Caribbean
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2005: Part 4
Title:
SD
Summary: Oscars A
Story No: X02840
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/28/2005 12:00 AM
People: Jamie Foxx, Hilary Swank, Wolfgang Puck, Natalie Portman
Subscription:

1. Wide Kodak Theater

2. Mid shot Wolfgang Puck

3. Wide shot carpet

4. Mid shot Beyonce

5. Medium Leonardo DiCaprio

6. SOUNDBITE (English) Leonardo DiCaprio: "Because it''s been around for such a long time, and it''s like a world event. It''s not just something that people in the US pat attention to, everybody in the world celebrates this time and this moment and it has to do with art and people getting awarded for their artistic achievements and it''s the pinnacle of all that. It''s the award show."

7. Close-up Jamie Foxx

8. SOUNDBITE: (English) Jamie Foxx: "it''s absolutely incredible, I''ve got my little one, it''s absolutely beautiful."

9. Close-up Swank

10. SOUNDBITE (English) Hilary Swank: "I would have to say that it doesn''t feel much different. I''m still as in awe and as speechless as the first time. I would say though that I feel a little bit more appreciative because of the roes, the really great ones are few and far between, and I don''t think I really realised that before. "

11. Close-up Andre Llyod Webber and Natalie Portman

12. SOUNDBITE (English) Natalie Portman: "It''s really exciting, I''ve never been to the Oscars before so this is a very very exciting time."

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
People: Jamie Foxx, Hilary Swank, Wolfgang Puck, Natalie Portman
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2005: Part 5
Title:
SD
Summary: Oscars B
Story No: X02841
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/28/2005 12:00 AM
People: Natalie Portman, Penelope Cruz, Cate Blanchett
Subscription:

13. Close-up Catalina Sandino Moreno

14. SOUNDBITE (English) Catalina Sandino Moreno: " I was , oh my God, this morning I woke up at like 9 10, and I had my breakfast and I thought I was not going to eat anything because I thought I was going to be very nervous, but I was not, so I ate and I took a shower. And then the hair and make-up came, and I was reading and I read a lot, and it was fantastic. I was not at all nervous today."

15. Close-up Moreno''s purse

16. SOUNDBITE (Spanish) Catalina Sandino Moreno (transcript to follow)

17. SOUNDBITE (Hebrew) Natalie Portman (transcript to follow)

18. Medium fashion

19. SOUNDBITE (German) Oliver Hirschbiegel, Director, ''Downfall'' (transcript to follow)

20. Wide carpet

21. Close-up Penelope Cruz

22. SOUNDBITE (English) Penelope Cruz: "I really love his work and we met on a holiday once, we celebrated the end of 2000 together, his family and my family, and he is a very nice man. "

23. Mid shot Cate Blanchett

24. Mid shot Sophie Okonedo

25. SOUNDBITE (English) John Walker, Director, ''The Incredibles'': " She would say I am terribly unrepresented here tonight, I hate it all, because I did not design it."

26. Close-up Laura Linney''s necklace

27. SOUNDBITE (English) Laura Linney: " There is, of course there is, Monday. I think everyone in some way is looking forward to the day after tomorrow, it''s a long season, it builds, it is a roller coaster of a motion throughout time. But it is thrilling, you wouldn''t trade it for anything."

28. Fans taking photos

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
People: Natalie Portman, Penelope Cruz, Cate Blanchett
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2005: Part 6
Title:
SD
Summary: Sin City
Story No: X02842
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 03/30/2005 12:00 AM
People: Robert Rodriguez, Frank Miller, Rosario Dawson, Jessica Alba, Clive Owen
Subscription:

1. SOUNDBITE (English) Robert Rodriguez: "It was Frank Miller, whose comic graphic novel that it was based on, so Frank, that's why I really wanted him as a co-director because he just knows this world, he created Sin City and all these characters and the visual look, is all from his books and I just thought, it was beyond cinema - take cinema and make a graphic novel out of it and not turn it into a movie. That would just ruin the book. So I really try to use all the technology and all the different tricks I've learned to try and do what Frank does with a pen and ink so simply in his little studio. It too me a lot to try and emulate that."

2. SOUNDBITE (English) Rosario Dawson: "Well, in some ways actually, I wish I had not seen even a little bit of it and even been a part of it, just so that I could have watched it completely clear of any idea of it but I really am still extremely amazed, profoundly, by how incredible Robert is and what a talent he is for being able to bring this to life the way he has. It really is such a perfect adaptation, that it's mind-boggling that we were in this little room with green screen behind and that's what it ended up looking like. It's magical."

3. SOUNDBITE (English) Rosario Dawson: "Yeah well, I'm supposed to have torn his head off almost, in my excitement and lust to go and kiss him. You know, it's a kind of interesting sort of dynamic between the two of them - they're both very strong, they're both very willful and, you know, he's probably the only person who could get away with even threatening her, let alone backhanding her across the face without being murdered."

4. SOUNDBITE (English) Jessica Alba: "This type of dancing is nothing I have ever really been into. I was really terrified dancing in chaps with the lassoo half-dressed in front of a bunch of people and I had to learn to get over my fear of just stage-fright. I get like a stiff neck and start sweating and breathing shallow and hear my heart beat in my head, so I sort of got over that by the time we started shooting."

5. SOUNDBITE (English) Clive Owen: "Blown away. I'm like a fan of the movie, you know, no vanity of me being in it, regardless of whether I'm in it or not. I sat there and was just blown away. I saw Robert Rodriguez in the cinema after the screening, it was only two days ago and I said 'You're a genius. I don't know how you've done it. You've completely baffled me as to how you've pulled it off. But I think this is ground-breaking cinema.'"

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Animation and comics, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment
People: Robert Rodriguez, Frank Miller, Rosario Dawson, Jessica Alba, Clive Owen
Locations: Havana, Ciudad de La Habana, Cuba
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2005: Part 7
Title:
SD
Summary: Prince Rainier Funeral
Story No: X02843
Source: Pool
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 04/15/2005 12:00 AM
People: Juan Carlos
Subscription:

1. Wide shot, palace

2. Tilt down exterior of palace to flowers

3. Flowers

4. Wide shot, palace

5. Guards standing in line

6. Wide shot, palace

7. Various, guards marching

8. Exterior of chamber where Monaco's Prince Rainier III is lying in state

9. Various, Prince Rainier III lying in state

10. Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov arriving

11. Former President of El Salvador, Francisco Flores, getting out of car

12. Various, guests arriving

13. Wide shot, palace

14. King Carl XVI Gustaf and Queen Silvia of Sweden arriving

15. Archbishop Jean-Pierre Ricard of Bordeaux arriving

16. King Juan Carlos of Spain arriving

17. Wide shot, palace

18. Justice Minister of Switzerland, Christoph Blocher, arriving

19. Various, US car arriving

20. US representative, former Secretary of Navy John Lehman arriving

21. French President Jacques Chirac arriving

22. Wide shot, palace

23. Bishop arriving

24. Mid shot, palace

25. Guard on steps of palace

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
People: Juan Carlos
Locations: Monaco
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2005: Part 8
Title:
SD
Summary: John Mills Dies
Story No: X02844
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 04/23/2005 12:00 AM
People: John Mills, Liza Minnelli
Subscription:

SHOTLIST

London, UK. 30 January 2003

1. Sir John Mills talking to Liza Minnelli

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Celebrity deaths, Celebrity, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment
People: John Mills, Liza Minnelli
Locations: London, England, United Kingdom
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2005: Part 9
Title:
SD
Summary: Star Wars Ep3
Story No: X02845
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 05/06/2005 12:00 AM
People: Hayden Christensen, George Lucas
Subscription:

SHOTLIST

1. SOUNDBITE (English) George Lucas/Director, on how "Episode III" compares to Episodes "I" and "II": "I knew this was the one that put all of the pieces together. Where I knew on the first one that people were not going to be excited about me making a movie about a nine year old boy and with the second one they weren't going to be excited about me telling a love story, I knew this is the one that everybody wanted because Darth Vader is in it."

2. SOUNDBITE (English) Rick McCallum/Producer, on the mission of "Episode III": "I mean the real thing is how and why Anakin turns to the dark side, what is this downward spiral about. What has everyone waited thirty years to find out about? That was always the most important thing."

3. SOUNDBITE (English) Ian McDiarmid/Actor, on the film as allegory for current worldwide political tensions: "It chimes for the zeitgeist. That's a sort of coincidence in a way, but no coincidence that George is saying what he's always wanted to say which is basically people shouldn't talk about peace and practise its opposite. They shouldn't tell lies while promoting the truth. It's a good time to say these things, and this film says that and it also shows how easily people can be persuaded to part with their freedom while thinking that they're embracing its opposite."

4. SOUNDBITE (English) Hayden Christensen/Actor, on wearing the Darth Vader suit: "It was exhilarating. Sort of indescribable. But really one of the coolest sensations I think I've ever experienced."

5. SOUNDBITE (English) Hayden Christensen: "What was really neat actually was walking on the set and watching everyone around me take in Vader for the first time and watch their eyes light up with awe and excitement and a glimmer of fear as well. There's a certain respect that they had to pay and lower their heads a bit."

6. SOUNDBITE (English) Lucas, on the technical challenges of "Episode III": "Ultimately for me I had gone through all of the technical exercises of learning how to work in a new medium. This is the one where I got to pay it off. I could put the set of instructions away and just enjoy the process of making the movie. I knew what I was doing. The crew, the cast, everybody knew." 18. Behind-the-scenes b-roll of Lucas working with Christensen

7. SOUNDBITE (English) George Lucas, on the two "Star Wars" TV series: "Well there's two series. One's an animated series which is called 'The Clone Wars' which is about Obi Wan's and Anakin's adventures during the battles of the clone wars. The other one is a live action series which is based on minor characters in the series but none of the major players are in it."

8. SOUNDBITE (English) Lucas, on the possibility of another "Star Wars" trilogy: (Q: "Do you ever see a possibilty of an episode seven, eight or nine?") "No. The story is really about Darth Vader and you start with him as a nine year old and the end dead (laughs)"

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
People: Hayden Christensen, George Lucas
Locations: Mission San Rafael, California, United States
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2005: Part 10
Title:
SD
Summary: Cannes Star Wars
Story No: X02846
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 05/15/2005 12:00 AM
People: George Lucas, Michael Madsen, Eva Longoria, Hayden Christensen, Natalie Portman, Samuel L. Jackson, Anthony Daniels
Subscription:

SHOTLIST:-

1. Wide shot of Queen Mary 2

2. Wide of stage and announcement of award to George Lucas

3. Pan up from award

4. SOUNDBITE: (English) George Lucas, director: "I think it's very fitting that the final episode should be shown here, out of competition. Cannes has always been a special place for me."

5. Stormtroopers and Darth Vader on steps

6. Michael Madsen and David Ginola

7. Eva Longoria

8. Cutaway of crowds

9. Wide of George Lucas

10. Hayden Christensen

11. Natalie Portman

12. Wide of stars meeting the crowds

13. Samuel L Jackson

14. George Lucas with Anthony Daniels

15. Wide of steps and fireworks

16. Wide of orchestra

17. Arrivals at Star Wars party

18. Rick McCallum, producer

19. Tilt up Natalie Portman waving

20. SOUNDBITE: (English) Natalie Portman, actress: "It's my first time in Cannes and it's just unbelievable. I've never seen so many people so passionate about movies. It's really, really exciting to be here." (Q: "Any nerves walking up the red carpet with your new image?") "No, I mean I'm very comfortable with it and excited about it." (Q: "Do you have to choose your dress?") "Yeah, I mean it changes things. You don't want to look like a q-tip in a cake."

21. Photocall Hayden Christensen

22. SOUNDBITE: (English) Hayden Christensen, actor: "Hard to get my head around. I don't think I'll ever really have a firm grasp on what this has meant. It's been surreal is the only way I can explain it."

23. Anthony Daniels

24. SOUNDBITE: (English) Anthony Daniels, actor: "In 1975 I was working in London's West End and got a call to meet this guy who is coming up, George Lucas, and I said 'no, I don't want to be in a crummy sci-fi movie' and look at this. Thirty years now, I've known this guy, I'm the only person in all of these movies and tonight's film is just terrific."

25. George Lucas

26. Tilt up to Eva Longoria

27. SOUNDBITE: (English) George Lucas, director: "It's very exciting to me because the whole thing started back here when I was a young director and I had directed my first movie and I had a film here and I pitched the story here and made the deal to make the film with United Artists, so it's a fitting place for it to end."

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Celebrity, Film festivals, Entertainment, Arts and entertainment, Movies
People: George Lucas, Michael Madsen, Eva Longoria, Hayden Christensen, Natalie Portman, Samuel L. Jackson, Anthony Daniels
Locations: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France
Show story thumbnails

Displaying 1 - 10 of 37 results

 
Share Story
 
*
*
*
 

You have successfully shared item(s).
Share
Cancel
Close
 
Message Box

OK
No
Yes