AP Archive
Welcome  Guest
Sign in or Register

 

Displaying 1 - 10 of 22 results

Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: Anna Nicole Smith
Story No: X07414
Source: AP Television
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/08/2007 12:00 AM
People: Anna Nicole Smith, Marilyn Monroe, Daniel Smith, Larry Birkhead
Subscription:

512333

Anna Nicole Smith collapses and dies

AP Television

Hollywood, Florida - 8 February 2007

1. Wide shot of Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, zoom in to model of guitar in front of building

2. Another shot of guitar in front of hotel

3. Police car in front of hotel

4. Wide shot of hotel, zoom in to tighter shot of sixth floor

5. Tilt up from Sheriff's vehicle to hotel

6. Various of entrance to hospital, where Anna Nicole Smith was taken and declared dead

AP Television

Hollywood, Florida - 8 February 2007

9. Police officers outside hospital

10. Sign reading: "Memorial Regional Hospital," pull out to wide shot of hospital

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, California - 7 August 2005

11. Tilt up and down of Anna Nicole Smith in black dress on red carpet

12. Cutaway of cameras

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, California - Recent

13. Smith talking to media outside an event, making drinking motion with her hand

AP Television

Hollywood, Florida - 8 February 2007

14. SOUNDBITE: (English) Tal Weissman, former make-up artist to Anna Nicole Smith:

"I don't want to divulge any kind of intimate information, but the only thing I can say is that she wasn't happy. And she tried to look happy in front of the cameras for everyone, but she wasn't very happy."

AP Television

Los Angeles, California - 8 February 2007

19. Anna Nicole Smith's lawyer, Ron Rale, talking to reporters

20. Cutaway of photographers and reporters

21. SOUNDBITE: (English) Ron Rale, Anna Nicole Smith's Lawyer

"If you hear anything, we're trying to avoid any kind of rumours about anything. I can tell you that in the last couple of days that Anna Nicole had some flu-like symptoms. She had had a fever I think even as of last night, or possibly the night before. There are some other very tragic other statements that go along with this, but I'm not going to talk about it right now. We all are going to miss Anna Nicole. I'm hopeful that she's reunited with Daniel. I don't want to get emotional about this, but all along I've really been believing that Anna Nicole's been like an underdog having to face all that she's gone through and I am just hopeful and I pray that it wasn't a cause that precipitated this. We don't know and don't want to speculate."

22. Rale standing at podium, zoom in to Rale leaving podium

ANNA NICOLE SMITH DIES AGED 39

Anna Nicole Smith, the voluptuous former Playboy centrefold who married an octogenarian billionaire and waged a legal battle for his fortune all the way to the Supreme Court, died on Thursday after collapsing at a hotel.

She was 39.

The blonde bombshell - who recently became tabloid fodder all over again after the sudden, apparently drug-related death of her 20-year-old son - was found unresponsive in her room at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Florida and was rushed to a hospital.

The chief investigator for the Broward County Medical Examiner's Office, said the cause of death was under investigation and an autopsy would be done on Friday.

Seminole Police Chief Charlie Tiger said a private nurse called 911 after finding Smith unresponsive in her sixth-floor hotel room.

He said Smith's bodyguard administered Cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) for about an hour before she was declared dead.

Smith's attorney Ron Rale told The Associated Press that he had talked to Smith on Tuesday or Wednesday, and she had flu symptoms and a fever and was still grieving over her son.

"She had had a fever I think even as of last night, or possibly the night before. There are some other very tragic other statements that go along with this, but I'm not going to talk about it right now," Rale said. "We all are going to miss Anna Nicole. I'm hopeful that she's reunited with Daniel."

"All along I've really been believing that Anna Nicole's been like an underdog having to face all that she's gone through and I am just hopeful and I pray that it wasn't a cause that precipitated this," he added.

Dr. Joshua Perper, the chief Broward County medical examiner who will perform the autopsy, said if her death was from natural causes, the findings would likely be announced quickly.

He cautioned, however, that definitive results could take weeks.

Through the '90s and into the new century, Smith was famous for being famous, a pop-culture punchline because of her up-and-down weight, her Marilyn Monroe looks, her exaggerated curves, her little-girl voice, her ditzy-blonde persona, and her over-the-top revealing outfits.

Recently, she lost a reported 69 pounds (31.3 kilogrammes) and became a spokeswoman for TrimSpa, a weight-loss supplement.

The Texas-born Smith was a topless dancer at strip club before she entered her photos in a search contest and made the cover of Playboy magazine in 1992.

She became Playboy's playmate of the year in 1993. She was also signed to a contract with Guess jeans, appearing in TV commercials, billboards and magazine ads.

But despite her smiling public persona, one-time make-up artist Tal Weissman said on Thursday, "Anna Nicole wasn't happy."

In recent years, the former playmate's life was consumed by drama.

In 1994, Smith married 89-year-old oil tycoon J. Howard Marshall II, whose wealth was estimated in 1992 to be 550 (m) million dollars.

Marshall died in 1995 at age 90, setting off a family feud over whether Smith had a right to his estate.

A federal court in California awarded her 474 (m) million US dollars. That was later overturned, but the court fight continues.

Just five months ago, Smith's 20-year-old son died suddenly in the Bahamas in what was believed to be a drug-related death.

Daniel Smith died September 10 in his mother's hospital room in the Bahamas, just days after she gave birth to a daughter.

Meanwhile, the paternity of her now 5-month-old daughter has remained a matter of dispute.

The birth certificate lists Dannielynn's father as attorney Howard K. Stern, Smith's most recent companion.

But Smith's ex-boyfriend Larry Birkhead was waging a legal challenge, saying he was the father.

Earlier this week, a judge ordered that a DNA test to determine the baby's father must be completed by 21 February.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Court proceedings, Health, Crime, Forensics, Trials, Law and order, General news
People: Anna Nicole Smith, Marilyn Monroe, Daniel Smith, Larry Birkhead
Locations: Hollywood
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: The Police
Story No: X07415
Source: AP Television
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/12/2007 12:00 AM
People: Sting
Subscription:

512753

Beloved rock trio announce their first tour in more than 20 years

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, 12 February 2007

1. Various exteriors Whiskey a Go Go nightclub

2. Camera cutaway

3. Reporter holds up Police album sleeve

4. Sting walking on stage

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, 12 February 2007

12. SOUNDBITE (English) ?uestlove (pronounced Questlove), Musician:

"Yeah, like, you know, normally when groups get back together and there's a whole bunch of - you're sceptical, 'Like, it's a money thing. Yada yada.' Sting lives in the world's largest castle. I've seen his castle, so I know it's not the money. "

13. SOUNDBITE (English) Matt Stone, Co-Creator, "South Park":

"I'm a huge, huge, huge Police fan, but I'm kind of into seeing Sting and Stewart fight on stage."

SOUNDBITE (English) ?uestlove (pronounced Questlove), Musician:

"I was just saying that. I want fodder. I want five-minute breaks where they just talk sh-- about each other and that, to me, is real."

14. SOUNDBITE (English) Andrew Hurley, Drummer, Fall Out Boy:

"I mean, The Police are back together. That's just insane. You never thought it would happen. That's a band that I grew up listening to. And, as a drummer, Stewart is my favourite drummer of all time. And he's hilarious."

(Reporter: Q: "How are they sounding in there?")

"They sounded amazing. I mean, there are points in the set - I mean, they said that this was a rehearsal. And I think it really was. They didn't know what parts they were going to, and they just kind of jammed and they'd catch themselves and get back into it. And it was just like, it was magical."

THE POLICE REUNITED

Beloved rock trio The Police announced its first tour in more than 20 years Monday (12 February) at a star packed rehearsal at the legendary Whiskey a Go Go in Los Angeles.

"I am going to come clean. We are actually, we are going to go on tour," lead singer Sting announced as a crowd of screaming fans looked on.

The group, which opened Sunday night's Grammy Awards with a live performance of its hit "Roxanne," broke up in 1984, and members Sting, Andy Summers and Stewart Copeland have since pursued solo careers.

While The Police never officially disbanded, there were rumours that the band members did not get along, something that Sting and his bandmates were quick to laugh about onstage, with Sting declaring: "We are wiser than we used to be. We are still fighting. We are still arguing about the music."

Celebrity attendees at the "rehearsal" included The Roots drummer ?uestlove (Questlove) and 'South Park' creator Matt Stone, both of whom are hoping for some on-stage tension as their musical heroes embark on a nationwide tour.

The Police is slated to play arenas, stadiums and some festivals in a North American tour beginning 28 May in Vancouver. Unlike a lot of older touring bands, The Police will not be calling upon musical back-up for their jaunt with a horn section and backing vocalists notable by their absence.

Some confirmed cities on the tour include New York, Boston, Seattle, Denver, Las Vegas, Phoenix, Dallas, New Orleans, St. Louis, Toronto and Montreal.

Tickets for the North American leg will range from 50 US dollars to 225 US dollars.

A portion of proceeds will go to WaterAid, an anti-poverty organisation that seeks to provide poor people access to safe water.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Music, Concert tours, Mobile devices, Musicians, Tour operators, Entertainment, Concerts, Wireless technology, Information and communication technologies, Technology, Hospitality and leisure industry, Consumer services, Consumer products and services, Industries, Business
People: Sting
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: Al Gore Live Earth
Story No: X07416
Source: AP Television
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/15/2007 12:00 AM
People: Al Gore, Cameron Diaz, Snoop Dogg, Faith Hill
Subscription:

513083

Al Gore announces worldwide concerts for climate change awareness

AP Entertainment

LA, 15th February 2007

3. Wide producer Kevin Wall and for US vice president Al Gore entering stage

4. Camerapersons

5. Wide Gore at podium

6. UPSOUND: Al Gore, Former US Vice President:

"The concerts are linked to the beginning of a campaign. If they were not, it would be a wonderful event in and of itself - to raise awareness and get the message out. We have a climate crisis that is a planetary emergency. Those phrases may sound shrill to those who are not used to hearing them. But the entire world scientific community just two weeks ago joined together again in a unanimous report, saying to the leaders of the world in the political and business and cultural and civic spheres, 'We have to respond.'"

CLIMATE CRISIS GETS LIVE CONCERTS

Detailing a historic effort to engage billions of people across the globe, Kevin Wall, Al Gore, Pharrell Williams and Cameron Diaz launched Save Our Selves (SOS) -The Campaign for a Climate in Crisis on Thursday (February 15.)

SOS is designed to trigger a global movement to combat our climate crisis. It will reach people in every corner of the planet through television, film, radio, the Internet and Live Earth, a 24-hour concert on 7 July across all seven continents that will bring together more than 100 of the world's top musical acts.

The Live Earth audience, and the proceeds from the concerts, will create the foundation for a new, multi-year global effort to combat the climate crisis led by The Alliance for Climate Protection and its Chair, former US vice president Al Gore.

SOS was founded by Kevin Wall, who won an Emmy as executive producer of Live 8.

"Our climate crisis is the paramount challenge facing humanity. SOS is more than a global distress call," Wall said.

"SOS will give the world the tools we need to answer that call with meaningful action. The most important part of SOS is how individuals, corporations, and governments respond," he told reporters.

Wall announced 25 of the 100 top musical acts that have answered SOS's call and are performing at Live Earth. SOS is also engaging other celebrities, CEOs, athletes, academics and government leaders to engage their constituencies.

"More than 100 artists are performing at Live Earth and they're all headliners. That's what it takes to engage billions of people. We're not just engaging fans of the Red Hot Chili Peppers and Snoop Dogg, or the Foo Fighters and Faith Hill. We're engaging them and everyone in between," Wall said.

SOS follows in the tracks of another Climate Change awareness group, Global Cool.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Concerts, Climate change, Music, Entertainment, Global environmental issues, Environment, Environment and nature
People: Al Gore, Cameron Diaz, Snoop Dogg, Faith Hill
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: Anna Nicole Judge
Story No: X07418
Source: AP Television
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/22/2007 12:00 AM
People: Anna Nicole Smith, Larry Birkhead, Billy Smith
Subscription:

513831

UPDATE Judge breaks down making court ruling, reaction

AP Television

Fort Lauderdale, Florida February 22, 2007

5. Cutaway of Howard K. Stern with his head on the table, zoom into (Anna Nicole Smith's mother) Virgie Arthur hand covering her face

6. SOUNDBITE: (English) Circuit Judge Larry Seidlin (off camera - overlaid by wide of court room pan up from Stern to Arthur):

"You'll read it, but I want her buried, I want her buried with her son. There's no shouting, this is not a happy moment. I want her buried with her son in the Bahamas. I want them to be together."

7. Wide of courtroom with Seidlin at his bench

8. SOUNDBITE: (English) Circuit Judge Larry Seidlin:

"And they're going to work out the logistics and the details with mother and the two gentlemen here. And I hope to God you guys give the kid the right shot. (includes zoom in as Judge becomes emotional)"

AP Television

Fort Lauderdale, Florida February 22, 2007

9. Media outside court

10. SOUNDBITE (English) Howard K. Stern, Anna Nicole Smith's Companion:

" I am very happy with the decision. All that mattered to me was that Anna's wishes were carried out and that she's going to be with her son."

Media Question: " After all the acrimony in court how is it that you two are standing side by side right now?"

11. SOUNDBITE (English) Larry Birkhead, Anna Nicole Smith's Companion:

"I think it is just that we all understand that we all loved Anna and it is in her best interest to come together and get this thing worked out in her best interest and lay her to rest."

12. Anna Nicole Smith's mother Virgie Arthur walking away

ANNA NICOLE JUDGE BREAKS DOWN

Anna Nicole Smith is to be buried in the Bahamas, alongside her dead son, it was announced Thursday after a tearful judge left the decision up to the guardian for the model's baby daughter.

Richard Milstein, the court-appointed guardian of five-month-old Dannielynn, announced the plans not long after a judge gave him control of Smith's final resting place. He gave no time frame for the burial.

Circuit Judge Larry Seidlin's ruling came a full two weeks after Smith died at a Florida hotel aged 39 of still-undetermined causes.

It followed warnings by the medical examiner that Smith's body was rapidly decomposing.

Announcing his decision, the judge, who was visibly distressed, told the court: "I want her to be buried with her son in the Bahamas. I want them to be together."

Smith's companion Howard K. Stern had wanted her to be buried next to her son Daniel, who died of apparent drug-related causes last year, while Smith's mother Virgie Arthur wanted her back in the family plot in Texas.

Stern sat hunched over a table with his hands folded as he awaited Seidlin's ruling and he wiped away tears with a tissue after the order. Arthur covered her eyes.

Before the Florida ruling, two consecutive witnesses called by Arthur's lawyers unexpectedly acknowledged that the starlet should be buried in the Bahamas next to her late son Daniel.

The statements by Ford Shelley, who claims to own the Bahamas home where Smith lived with Stern, and Billy Smith, Daniel's biological father, were a surprise.

Billy Smith, talking to the court via a speaker-phone, said he did not want his son to be exhumed as Arthur has said she wanted to do and that Anna Nicole and her son should be buried "side by side".

Outside court Stern told the media, "I am very happy with the decision. All that mattered to me was that Anna's wishes were carried out and that she is going to be with her son."

After the ruling was announced, Medical Examiner Dr. Joshua Perper said the order was under appeal, but did not elaborate on who had filed the appeal.

"I think that the chances of the appeal to succeed very poor," he added.

Smith died February 8 in a Florida hotel, but the cause is still unknown.

The dispute over the burial was one of many surrounding the former Playboy model.

Stern is listed as Dannielynn's father on the birth certificate, but Smith's ex-boyfriend, Larry Birkhead, has said that he is the father.

Before he adjourned his court, Judge Seidlin urged the two men to "give the kid the right shot".

Shortly before he announced his verdict, the judge pressed Stern and Birkhead to submit to a DNA test to find out who the father is.

A judge in California is currently handling the paternity case.

A Supreme Court judge in Nassau ordered a closed-door hearing on who should have custody of Dannielynn to resume on Monday, attorneys said outside the courthouse.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Court proceedings, Courts, Celebrity children, Forensics, Trials, Law and order, General news, Judiciary, Government and politics, Celebrity, Entertainment
People: Anna Nicole Smith, Larry Birkhead, Billy Smith
Locations: Fort Lauderdale
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: Oscars
Story No: X07419
Source: AP Television
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/25/2007 12:00 AM
People: Helen Mirren, Martin Scorsese, Francis Ford Coppola, George Lucas, Steven Spielberg, Forest Whitaker, Jennifer Hudson, Eddie Murphy, Alan Arkin
Subscription:

514172

WRAP Show highlights, backstage interviews and film clips from the Oscar winning films

AP Television

Los Angeles California February 25 2007.

17. Helen Mirren, Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role, "The Queen":

" I don't think I am our only big winner, I think we won big time this year, the British talent, in their recognition for us all to be here is amazing, you know it is amazing and who walks away with this you know it is wonderful but it is not the most important thing, but what is incredibly important and I think very generous is the American Film Academy and the American people is recognising us, recognising the Spanish and the Mexican filmmakers tonight, the recognition of film is getting more global and I think that is an amazing thing. "

AP Television

Los Angeles California February 25 2007.

21. Soundbite ( English ) Martin Scorsese, Best Achievement in Directing, "The Departed":

"Well that was an extraordinary moment when the three of them came out and gave me a look, Francis (Coppola) and George (Lucas) and Steven (Spielberg) I mean you know we go back, Steven and I go back to ' 68 - ' 69, Francis Coppola 1970 , George and I 1970. I just went up to San Fransisco to see Francis and his new film which is quite wonderful at George's new theatre on Thursday, so they have influenced me, Francis has been like a big brother to me in my life and Spielberg and George Lucas and I have, particularly in our first 10 or 12 years, in the seventies and the early eighties, you know worked together, really worked together you know helped each other with each others films , it was almost like a private little film school, and to see the three of them walk out and give me a look before they opened the envelope, I was very surprised."

"THE DEPARTED" WINS BEST-PICTURE OSCAR, SCORSESE, MIRREN, WHITAKER TAKE PRIZES

Martin Scorsese's mob epic "The Departed" won best picture at the Academy Awards and earned the filmmaker the directing prize that had eluded him throughout his illustrious career.

"Could you double-check the envelope?" said Scorsese, who arguably had been the greatest living American filmmaker without an Oscar.

He received his Oscar from three contemporaries and friends, Steven Spielberg, Francis Ford Coppola and George Lucas.

It was an evening where no one film dominated, as the Oscars shared the love among a wide range of movies.

Three of the four acting front-runners won: best actress Helen Mirren as British monarch Elizabeth II in "The Queen"; best actor Forest Whitaker as Ugandan dictator Idi Amin in "The Last King of Scotland"; and supporting actress Jennifer Hudson as a soul singer in "Dreamgirls."

The other front-runner, Eddie Murphy of "Dreamgirls," lost to Alan Arkin for "Little Miss Sunshine."

Mirren dedicated her win to the real Queen of England.

"For 50 years and more, Elizabeth Windsor has maintained her dignity, her sense of duty and her hairstyle," said Mirren, who has been on a remarkable roll since last fall, winning all the major film and television prizes for playing both of Britain's Queen Elizabeths. "She's had her feet planted firmly on the ground, her hat on her head, her handbag on her arm and she's weathered many many storms. ... If it wasn't for her, I most certainly wouldn't be here. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the Queen," Mirren said, holding her Oscar aloft.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
People: Helen Mirren, Martin Scorsese, Francis Ford Coppola, George Lucas, Steven Spielberg, Forest Whitaker, Jennifer Hudson, Eddie Murphy, Alan Arkin
Locations: Los Angeles
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: Naomi Campbell
Story No: X07420
Source: Agency Pool
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 03/23/2007 12:00 AM
People: Naomi Campbell
Subscription:

517035

Sanitation department releases supermodel from community service

Agency Pool

New York, 23 Mar 2007

1. Naomi Campbell, wearing bare-shouldered gown and stiletto sandals, walks out of rubbish truck garage towards cameras

2. Reporters waiting by her car

3. Mid shot of Campbell walking

4. Reporters

5. Campbell waves to crowd, gets into car

6. Car drives off

7. SOUNDBITE: (English) Albert Durrell, Sanitation Deputy Chief:

"She was assigned to community service, she served five days, she completed her service successfully, she reported every day on time."

STORYLINE:

Catwalker Naomi Campbell left a Manhattan sanitation garage on Friday after completing five days of community service for assaulting her maid.

The British model sauntered out of the drab Department of Sanitation facility just after 4 p.m. local time (2000 GMT), seconds after a garbage truck rolled through the area.

"She reported every day on time," said her boss for the week, sanitation Deputy Chief Albert Durrell.

The pavement Campbell crossed in order to leave through the chain-link exit gate might as well have been a catwalk.

With a subtle smile, she strutted out in a shimmering, bare-shouldered gown and stiletto sandals, stepping into her silver Rolls Royce and pulling away as paparazzi snapped pictures.

Residents of the Lower East Side apartment complex across the street came running to catch a glimpse of her, laughing and cheering the glamorous woman the media has often painted as a hothead.

But Durrell said there were no problems during her five days at the Manhattan District 3 Garage on the East River.

Her chores included sweeping garage floors, mopping and sweeping hallways, and scrubbing toilets, as well as "the locker room detail," Durrell said.

Equipped with washcloths and scrub brushes, she worked wearing an orange, reflective Department of Sanitation vest, stretch pants, combat boots and a dusk mask.

"She was on her hands and knees at some point," the green-clan sanitation official added. "She did scrub the toilets of the bathroom."

He said Campbell showed up on time each of the five days, at 8 a.m. local time (1200 GMT), and worked till 4 p.m. local time (2000 GMT). During lunch break, she and co-workers ordered pizza.

It was part of a programme of community service approved by the district attorney to fulfil court sentences.

In January, Campbell pleaded guilty to misdemeanour assault for throwing her mobile phone at her maid last year in the model's Park Avenue apartment, over a missing pair of jeans.

Her maid, Ana Scolavino, required four stitches to her head, since the phone apparently was crystal-encrusted.

Campbell said it was an accident because she did not intend to hit the woman.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Assault and battery, Shoes, Violent crime, Crime, General news, Fashion accessories, Fashion, Beauty and fashion, Lifestyle
People: Naomi Campbell
Locations: New York City
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: Gere And Shetty
Story No: X07421
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 04/15/2007 12:00 AM
People: Richard Gere, Shilpa Shetty
Subscription:

519442

Actor Richard Gere causes controversy by kissing Shilpa Shetty at an AIDS awareness campaign in India

AP Entertainment

New Delhi, April 15, 2007

1. Bollywood actor Shilpa Shetty holding hands with Hollywood actor Richard Gere on stage; thanking him in Hindi

2. Close of hands; zoom out to Gere kissing her hand and then bending her to give her kisses on the cheek (Shilpa saying- "This is a bit too much") followed by an elaborate bow

3. Cheering audience

4. Shilpa coming down the stage; received by Gere at the bottom of the steps

5. Cutaway cameras

6. Dancers dancing to a Bollywood number

7. Pan over audience

8. Man in audience dancing

9. Men in audience with their arms raised

10. Richard Gere asking audience to repeat the words- 'condom' and 'sex'- and a slogan in Hindi- "No condom, no sex"

11. Audience cheering

GERE SLAMMED FOR GETTING FRISKY WITH SHETTY

Hollywood actor and HIV/AIDS activist Richard Gere stunned Bollywood actor Shilpa Shetty with an impromptu shower of kisses at a programme to raise awareness about HIV/AIDS among truckers in New Delhi on Sunday .

While Shilpa thanked Gere for his efforts at raising HIV/AIDS awareness, Gere first kissed her hand and then bent her sideways to rain a shower of kisses on her cheek.

A breathless Shilpa was heard saying- "It was a bit too much"- into the microphone.

Gere then executed an elaborate bow before her.

Gere and Shilpa were taking part in a function organised by the Transport Corporation of India Foundation (TCIF) and Heroes Project to sensitise truckers on the issue of HIV/AIDS.

According to TCIF, there are approximately two million long-distance truckers in India.

Long absence from home, peer pressure, high stress and difficult working conditions make them prone to risk behaviour including unsafe sexual practices.

Past studies have shown that around 2-11 per cent of the truckers are estimated to be HIV positive and 10-15 per cent of them have at least one sexually transmitted infection.

Gere's open display of affection for Shetty had some conservative Indian groups out on the streets on Monday , protesting against what they said was vulgar public behaviour on Gere's part.

In Meerut, protestors burnt Shetty's posters and chanted slogans against her and Gere .

In Kanpur and Varanasi , protestors burnt Gere's effigy to vent their anger against the Hollywood star.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Trucking, Road transportation, Transportation and shipping, Industrial products and services, Industries, Business, Trucking, Shipping
People: Richard Gere, Shilpa Shetty
Locations: India
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: Summer Blockbusters
Story No: X07422
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 04/20/2007 12:00 AM
People: Johnny Depp, Keira Knightley, Orlando Bloom
Subscription:

519953

A round up of movies to look out for this coming summer

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, recent

2. SOUNDBITE (English) Ben Lyons/E! Entertainment: "Anytime a film in Hollywood does well, people always say, 'When's the next one, when's the next one?' And when a sequel does well, they go, 'Where's the next one?' So this summer, we have so many third installments of big franchises whether its 'Spider-Man 3' or 'Pirates 3' or 'Shrek Three,' there's another Jason Bourne film, 'The Bourne Ultimatum,' 'Ocean's Thirteen,' 'Rush Hour 3.' Seems like this summer there's a lot of third instalments of big franchises."

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, recent

6. SOUNDBITE (English) David Poland/"The Hot Button": "And then, of course, May, which is what everyone is talking about is completely out of its mind. You have, basically, four, three of the biggest franchises in the history of the film business all going into the same month. 'Spider-Man' has the advantage of the two-week window before it gets to 'Shrek the Third,' which they've so cleverly called, 'Shrek the Third.' And then you have one week until 'Pirates.'"

5. SOUNDBITE (English) Gregg Kilday/"Hollywood Reporter":

"The fact of the matter is May is one of the best movie-going months of the year

and there is a tradition in May that supports three big movies. Last year, for example,

the beginning of the month saw the " The Da Vinci Code,' the middle of the month,

the animated film, 'Over the Hedge,' and then for the Memorial Day weekend 'X-Men: The Last Stand.' All proved to be big hundred-million-dollar-plus movies. The question that folks will be looking at is how big the box office can expand this May to accommodate the three big films that are coming out."

6. SOUNDBITE (English) Jeanne Wolf/"Parade" magazine:

"And there's another psychology going on here, which is when you see a good movie

you think, 'Oh, well, that's enough for the year -- ha! No, when you see a great movie you want to turn around and go see another one, and then you don't mind seeing another one. So that's the gamble that the studios are placing."

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, recent

8. SOUNDBITE (English) Gregg Kilday/"Hollywood Reporter":

"I think right now the safest bet is 'Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End.'

'Pirates Two: Dead Man's Chest,' which came out last year, was the top-grossing film of 2006, made over $400-million dollars, was a bigger film at the box office than either 'Shrek 2' or 'Spider-Man 2.' So, if that trajectory remains in place, 'Pirates' would be the movie that would prevail over the competition this summer."

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, recent

10. SOUNDBITE (English) Sandy Cohen/Associated Press:

"Here's, for me, here's the appeal of 'Pirates.' I love the character that Johnny Depp plays. I could watch that character play chess. Like, I could watch that character kick back on the couch. So, for me, the appeal of that movie is all in that character and I would pay just to go watch that character. I think the character is extremely entertaining."

HOLLYWOOD HOPES FOR BLOCKBUSTER SUMMER

This summer, Hollywood movie executives hope three is the magic number. The third instalments of some of their biggest ever film franchises are released within weeks of each other.

"Spiderman 3", "Shrek the Third" and "Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" hit cinemas in May, with Warner Bros's: "Ocean's 13" following in early June.

"Anytime a film in Hollywood does well, people always say, 'When's the next one, when's the next one?', " E! Entertainment's Ben Lyons explains." And when a sequel does well, they go, 'Where's the next one?' So this summer, we have so many third installments of big franchises whether its 'Spider-Man 3' or 'Pirates 3' or 'Shrek Three,' there's another Jason Bourne film, 'The Bourne Ultimatum,' 'Ocean's Thirteen,' 'Rush Hour 3."

The last Spiderman, Shrek and "Pirates" movies were all billion dollar grossing films, and studios hope the sequels will boost profits after a comparatively disappointing 2006 at the box office. According to critics, May is the best month to attract audiences:

"The fact of the matter is May is one of the best movie-going months of the year," Gregg Kilday from the Hollywood Reporter told AP Entertainment, " and there is a tradition in May that supports three big movies. Last year, for example, the beginning of the month saw the " The Da Vinci Code,' the middle of the month, the animated film, 'Over the Hedge,' and then for the Memorial Day weekend 'X-Men: The Last Stand.' All proved to be big hundred-million-dollar-plus movies. The question that folks will be looking at is how big the box office can expand this May to accommodate the three big films that are coming out."

He adds that his money's on the third "Pirates of the Caribbean", where Elizabeth ( Keira Knightley) and Will ( Orlando Bloom) must go and rescue Captain Jack Sparrow from the Kraken monster: "I think right now the safest bet is 'Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End.' 'Pirates Two: Dead Man's Chest,' which came out last year, was the top-grossing film of 2006, made over $400-million dollars, was a bigger film at the box office than either 'Shrek 2' or 'Spider-Man 2.' "

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Animated films, Adventure films, Movies, Entertainment
People: Johnny Depp, Keira Knightley, Orlando Bloom
Locations: Los Angeles
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: Paris Hilton
Story No: X07423
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 06/26/2007 12:00 AM
People: Paris Hilton
Subscription:

527477

Heiress released from prison

AP Entertainment

Lynwood, California, 26 June 2007

1. Ext correctional facility

2. Paris Hilton walks out and walks past media

3. Paris Hilton hugs her mother, Kathy Hilton, waiting in car

4. Media surround car, Paris and Kathy Hilton inside

5. Hilton's car leaves

6. SOUNDBITE (English) Steve Whitmore, Sherriff's spokesman:

"Not really, it was okay, it was uneventful. So we're grateful. It's over. (Q.Reporter - "and she was treated, throughout her stay, the 23 days...?") Our goal was to treat her just like any other inmate. Obviously if you look around you that's a little different. But yes, it was to treat her like any other inmate, she has fulfilled her debt to society and it's now concluded (Q.Reporter - "did she say anything to you when she was leaving") She just said thank you and good bye, and she thanked people as she left."

PARIS HILTON LEAVES PRISON

Paris Hilton left jail on Tuesday after a bizarre, three-week stay in which the hotel heiress was briefly released to her Hollywood Hills home, before being sent back to a county lockup.

The 26-year-old walked out of the Century Regional Detention Facility for women in Lynwood, to an enormous horde of cameras and reporters after midnight.

Hilton wore a green jacket, plaited hair and a broad smile as she left the jail.

She waved to press as she ran towards her mother, Kathy Hilton, waiting patiently inside a car.

The two hugged each other through the car window, before Hilton climbed inside and drove away.

It was not immediately clear where she was going.

Sherriff's spokesperson Steve Whitmore spoke to the gathered media after Hilton had left.

"Our goal was to treat her just like any other inmate." Whitmore said Obviously if you look around you that's a little different. But yes, it was to treat her like any other inmate, she has fulfilled her debt to society and it's now concluded"

He added that the heiress "just said thank you and good bye, and she thanked people as she left."

The starlet will complete her probation in March 2009 as long as she keeps her driver's licence current and doesn't break any laws.

She can reduce that time by 12 months if she does community service that could include a public-service announcement, the city attorney's office has said.

Hilton began her 45-day sentence for violating her probation in an alcohol-related reckless driving case.

She was mostly confined to a solitary cell in the special needs unit away from the other 2,200 inmates.

Hilton spent only three days there before she was released with electronic monitoring by Sheriff Lee Baca for an unspecified medical condition that he later said was psychological.

The following day Superior Court Judge Michael T. Sauer, who sentenced the hotel heiress, called her back into court and ordered her returned to jail, saying he had not approved her release.

Hilton left the courtroom in tears calling for her mother and shouting, "It's not right!"

She was then taken to the downtown Twin Towers jail, which houses men and the county jail's medical treatment centre, where she underwent medical and psychiatric exams to determine where she should be confined.

Hilton's stay there cost taxpayers 1,109.78 US dollars a day, more than 10 times the cost of housing inmates in the general population.

The move by Baca caused a firestorm of criticism over whether the Hilton was getting special treatment due to her wealth and fame.

The Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors has launched an investigation into the allegations.

Hilton's path to jail began September 7, when she failed a sobriety test after police saw her weaving down a street in her Mercedes-Benz on what she said was a late-night run to a hamburger stand.

She pleaded no contest to reckless driving and was sentenced to 36 months probation, alcohol education and 1,500 US dollars in fines.

After that sentence Hilton was stopped twice by officers who discovered her driving with a suspended license.

The second stop landed her in Sauer's courtroom, where he sentenced her to jail.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Prisons, Automobiles, Treatment of prisoners, Court proceedings, Crime, Correctional systems, Law and order, General news, Human welfare, Social issues, Social affairs, Trials
People: Paris Hilton
Locations: California
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2007
Title:
SD
Summary: Top Entertainment Stories From 2007: Spice Girls
Story No: X07424
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 06/28/2007 12:00 AM
People: Geri Halliwell, Victoria Beckham, Melanie Brown
Subscription:

527748

The Spice Girls turn out for announcement about pop groups future

AP Entertainment - (Check Any Restrictions with AP Entertainment)

London - 28th June 2007

1. WS Spice Girls arriving for photocall

2. MS pan across girls

3. WS photocall

4. Cutaway photographer

5. WS Spice Girls walking along cobbles

6. WS second photocall

7. Cutaway photographers pan to photocall

8. Cutaway photographers

9. WS Spice Girls walking to third photocall

10. Cutaway photographers

11. WS Spice Girls posing with Union Jack

12. WS Spice Girls with various nations' flags

13. MS Geri Halliwell and Emma Bunton

14. WS Spice Girls leaving photocall

FIVE BECOME 1

The Spice Girls appeared united once again as five became one at a photocall in advance of today's comeback announcement.

Now all in their 30s and with six children between them and Baby Spice expecting, the group appeared in a more demure pose than we are used to seeing them, hand in hand.

Geri Halliwell swapped her Union Jack mini for a flowing boho flower-print dress, Victoria Beckham, 33, wore her trademark super-skinny trousers with a corset-style top. Mel B, 32, chose a red pencil skirt and corset top and a heavily pregnant Emma Bunton, 31, covered up her bump in a black knee-length dress. Mel C, 33, looked decidedly unsporty in fitted black jeans, black heels, and a bomber jacket-style top.

The Spices posed at the Meridian line at the Royal Observatory in Greenwich, south east London, ahead of their official announcement of a 25-date multi-million pound world tour.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Intellectual property, Children, Corporate news, Business
People: Geri Halliwell, Victoria Beckham, Melanie Brown
Show story thumbnails

Displaying 1 - 10 of 22 results

 
Share Story
 
*
*
*
 

You have successfully shared item(s).
Share
Cancel
Close
 
Message Box

OK
No
Yes