AP Archive
Welcome  Guest
Sign in or Register

 

Displaying 1 - 10 of 31 results

Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: People's Choice awards cancelled due to writers strike
Story No: X05274
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 12/20/2007 12:00 AM
People: Ethan Suplee, Nicollette Sheridan, George Lucas, Queen Latifah
Subscription:

original story: 547851

Entertainment LA People's Choice

People's Choice awards cancelled due to writers strike

US P CHOICE 20071220Ex

20/12/2007

EF07/1511

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, 19 December 2007

English/Nat

Check script for details

SHOTLIST

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, 10 January 2006

1. Wide establishing shot of Shrine Auditorium

2. Medium People's Choice banners with pan down to arrivals line

3. Banner with People's Choice/CBS logos

4. Establishing shot of actors Ethan Suplee and Jason Lee

5. Nicollette Sheridan greets fans

6. Wide of arrivals

7. Director George Lucas waves to fans

8. Camera cutaway

PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARDS 2008 CANCELLED

The ongoing Hollywood writers' strike has claimed next year's People's Choice Awards ceremony for 2008.

A day after Writers Guild Of America union bosses rejected a request for striking members to be allowed to write scripts for the awards ceremonies, organisers of the People's Choice prize-giving in January have cancelled the show.

Insiders claim there are still tentative plans to televise an alternative to the annual show on 8 January 2008, but there will be no red carpet and the media will be barred from the event.

It is not known if Queen Latifah, who was announced as a host, will still be involved in the show.

Reports suggest the organisers of the Golden Globe Awards on 13 January 2008 may follow suit, and scrap a planned live telecast.

The writers, who began their walk-out on 5 November 2007, plan to picket any awards shows and, as a result, many nominated stars have threatened not to attend.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: People's Choice Awards, Strikes, Celebrity, Literary awards, Award shows, Entertainment, People's Choice Awards, Events, General news, Strikes, Labor issues, Social issues, Social affairs, Literary events, Books
People: Ethan Suplee, Nicollette Sheridan, George Lucas, Queen Latifah
Locations: Los Angeles
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: Actor Heath Ledger found dead
Story No: X05275
Source: AP TELEVISION
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 01/23/2008 12:00 AM
People: Heath Ledger, Michelle Williams, Lasse Hallstrom, Abbie Cornish, Bob Dylan, Cate Blanchett, Jack Nicholson, Julia Stiles
Subscription:

original story: 551588

US Aus Ledger

WRAP Actor Heath Ledger found dead, body removed, tributes; father comment

US AUS LEDGE 20070123I

23/01/2008

EF08/0093

AP TELEVISION

New York/Perth, 22 Jan 2008/FILE

English/Natsound

See Script

SHOTLIST

AP TELEVISION

++NIGHT SHOT++

New York, US - 22 January, 2008

2. Stretcher carrying body of actor Heath Ledger being wheeled into coroner's vehicle from building

AP TELEVISION

New York, US - 22 January, 2008

++NIGHT SHOTS++

3. Paramedics placing body in coroner's vehicle, closing doors

4. Coroner's vehicle leaving

STORYLINE

Heath Ledger, the talented 28-year-old actor who gravitated toward dark, brooding roles that defied his leading-man looks, was found dead in a Manhattan, New York apartment, face down at the foot of his bed with prescription sleeping pills nearby, police said.

Speaking on Tuesday night, New York Police Department (NYPD) spokesman Paul Browne said "Mr Ledger's body was discovered by a masseuse and a housekeeper. The masseuse had an appointment, a regular appointment, and they found the deceased at about 2.45, 3.00 o'clock this afternoon, unresponsive in his bedroom."

There was no obvious indication that the Australian-born Ledger had committed suicide, Browne added.

The massage therapist and a housekeeper found his naked body at about 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, police said. They tried to revive him, but he was already dead.

"We are all deeply saddened and shocked by this accident," Ledger's publicist, Mara Buxbaum, said in a statement on Tuesday night.

"This is an extremely difficult time for his loved ones and we are asking the media to please respect the family's privacy and avoid speculation until the facts are known."

Outside the Manhattan apartment building, paparazzi and onlookers gathered, and several police officers put up barricades to control the crowd of about 300.

Onlookers craned their necks as officers brought out a black bodybag on a gurney, took it across the sidewalk and put it into a medical examiner's office van.

Outside the Brooklyn apartment that Ledger had once shared with actress Michelle Williams, a neighbour said he didn't behave like a normal film star.

"From the little that I saw of him living just a few doors down, he just seemed like a really sweet neighbourhoody kind of guy, very down to earth. (They) sort of kept to themselves, sort of the antithesis of whatever stars are supposed to be like."

An autopsy was planned for Wednesday, medical examiner's office spokeswoman Ellen Borakove said.

His family in Perth family rejected any suggestion on Wednesday that the actor had killed himself and joined fellow Australians in mourning one of their rising stars.

Members of Ledger's family faced a throng of media gathered in the actor's hometown of Perth, in the state of Western Australia, and read a prepared statement saying his death was accidental.

"We can confirm the very tragic, untimely and accidental passing of our dearly loved son, brother and doting father of Matilda. Heath has touched so many people on so many different levels during his short life, but few had the pleasure of truly knowing him," Heath's father Kim said, standing with his wife Sally and daughter Kate.

Kim Ledger remembered his son as a "down to earth, generous, kind-hearted, life-loving, unselfish individual" who was "extremely inspirational" to those who knew him.

Ledger was an award-winning actor who chose his roles carefully rather than cashing in on big-money parts. He was nominated for a best-actor Oscar for his performance as a gay cowboy in "Brokeback Mountain."

During filming, he met Michelle Williams, who played his wife in the film.

The two had a daughter, now 2-year-old Matilda, and lived together in Brooklyn, New York until they split up last year.

Though his leading man looks propelled him to early stardom in films like "10 Things I Hate About You" and "A Knight's Tale," his career took a notable turn toward dramatic and brooding roles with 2001's "Monster's Ball."

Ledger eschewed Hollywood glitz in favor of a bohemian life in Brooklyn, where he became one of the borough's most famous residents.

"Brokeback" would be his breakthrough role, establishing him as one of his generation's finest talents and an actor willing to take risks.

Ledger began to gravitate more towards independent fare, including Lasse Hallstrom's "Casanova" and Terry Gilliam's "The Brothers Grimm," both released in 2005.

In his 2006 film "Candy," Ledger played a poet wrestling with a heroin addiction along with his girlfriend, played by Abbie Cornish.

Recently, he co-starred in "I'm Not There," in which he played one of the many incarnations of Bob Dylan - as did fellow Australian Cate Blanchett, whose performance in that film earned an Oscar nomination on Tuesday for best supporting actress.

And in what may be his final finished performance, Ledger proved that he would not be intimidated by taking on a character as iconic as Jack Nicholson's Joker. Ledger's version of the "Batman" villain, glimpsed in early teaser trailers, made it clear that his Joker would be more depraved and dark.

Ledger told The New York Times in a November interview that he "stressed out a little too much" during the Dylan film and had trouble sleeping while portraying the Joker, whom he called a "psychopathic, mass-murdering, schizophrenic clown with zero empathy."

Ledger was born in 1979 to a mining engineer and a French teacher and got his first acting role playing Peter Pan at the age of 10 in a local theatre company.

He began acting in independent films as a 16-year-old in Sydney and played a cyclist hoping to land a spot on an Olympic team in a 1996 television show, "Seat."

After several independent films, Ledger moved to Los Angeles at age 19 and starred opposite Julia Stiles in "10 Things I Hate About You."

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Celebrity, Entertainment
People: Heath Ledger, Michelle Williams, Lasse Hallstrom, Abbie Cornish, Bob Dylan, Cate Blanchett, Jack Nicholson, Julia Stiles
Locations: Australia, New York City, New York, Australia and Oceania, United States, North America
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: Writers return to work after strike ends
Story No: X05276
Source: AP TELEVISION
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/14/2008 12:00 AM
People:
Subscription:

original story: 554243

US Writers

Writers return to work after strike ends

US WRITERS 20080214I

14/02/2008

EF08/0177

AP TELEVISION

Burbank - 13 Feb 2008

English/Nat

SHOTLIST:

1. Wide pan to entrance to Warner Bros. Studios

2. Zoom out of cars at entrance

3. Close-up of Warner Bros. logo on water tower

4. Cars entering Warner Bros. Studio complex

5. Wide of billboards at Warner Bros Studios

6. Various of billboard for television show "Nip Tuck"

7. Various of billboard for television show "Two and a Half Men"

8. Set-up of writer Eddie Gorodetski

9. SOUNDBITE: (English) Eddie Gorodetski, writer, "Two and a Half Men":

"We just want to get back to doing our job. I want to be able to forget all the strike stuff I had to memorise, you know, what's important about deals, and, you know, I just want to make people laugh."

10. Close-up of billboard for "Two and a Half Men"

11. SOUNDBITE: (English) Eddie Gorodetski, writer, "Two and a Half Men":

"It's, it was scary not working and not being able to work. It's not like getting fired, and you lost your job. It's like your job doesn't exist anymore. That's how I felt as a writer, and I'm sure that other people felt this way. It's like, you know, wait a minute, I should be working, and then that's what's great about the people we work with. They're not, you know, lazy. They want to work and they weren't allowed to, and that's a financial hit to them, and it's everything else. And so, if anyone is angry, I get it."

12. Various of billboard of television show entitled, "Without a Trace"

13. SOUNDBITE: (English) Joe Stone, musician, Warner Bros Studios:

"I think it's, people are very upbeat, people are very upbeat right now because it's been such a long time that this thing has been going on. And you could really feel it yesterday, even at lunch and so on, when all the people from all the different divisions came out, and were sitting around, and it was just, there was a lot of electricity in the air, and I think we're all feeling pretty good about it."

14. Wide of NBC Studios entrance

15. Close-up of NBC sign

16. SOUNDBITE: (English) Charles Griffin, sound technician, NBC Studios:

"We were affected a great deal. It put all of us out of work. If the writers aren't working, we aren't working, so to speak. But, besides that, how can I put this? I'm just glad it's over."

17. Wide of filmmaker statue

STORYLINE:

Writers and the thousands of staff and crew working in film and television were returning to work in the US on Wednesday after an agreement between the Writers Guild of America (WGA) and the studios on a new three-year contract.

Workers at the sprawling Warner Brothers' Studios complex in Burbank, California, were back in business on a variety of projects, producing television programs for US networks, along with feature motion picture projects.

Eddie Gorodetski, a writer for the TV comedy "Two and a Half Men", said he was definitely ready to go back to work.

"It's not like getting fired, and you lost your job," said Gorodetski. "It's like your job doesn't exist anymore. That's how I felt as a writer, and I'm sure that other people felt this way."

He also said he was grateful to the crew of the sitcom for their support and concern during the three-month-long walkout that halted production on the CBS show.

WGA members voted overwhelmingly on Tuesday to lift the union's strike order, allowing the industry to re-start production of numerous TV sitcoms and dramas.

More than ten-thousand WGA members were involved in the strike, with countless other industry workers forced into unemployment because of the walkout.

Writers did not vote on the tentative contract agreement which has won approval from the union's board of directors.

The contract ratification vote will be conducted by mail and at meetings and will conclude on 25 February, 2008.

Approval is expected after widespread enthusiasm for the proposed contract expressed at Guild meetings last weekend in New York and Los Angeles.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Strikes, Situation comedies, Television, General news, Strikes, Labor issues, Social issues, Social affairs, Comedy shows, Media, Entertainment
Locations: Los Angeles
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: Paul McCartney Brits Reaction
Story No: X05277
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/21/2008 12:00 AM
People: Paul McCartney
Subscription:

original story: 555058

Entertainment UK Brits reax

Backstage reactions at the 2008 Brit Awards

UK BRITS 5 20080221E

21/02/2008

EF08/0205

AP Entertainment

London, 20th February 2008

English/Nat

Check script for details

SHOTLIST

PLEASE NOTE: No access Mobiles

AP Entertainment

London, 20th February 2008

1. Arrival Sir Paul McCartney

2. SOUNDBITE (English) Sir Paul McCartney:

"It was emotional for me because it was so sort of record business, they told me that the crowd might be a little bit cool, might be a little bit executives, but they weren't at all, they were fantastic, so it was great, we had a great show, we could have kept going for hours."

BRITS 2008 BACKSTAGE REACTIONS

Paul McCartney set his recent troubles aside to steal the show Wednesday night (21FEB08) at the2008 Brit Awards, the British music industry's most prestigious prizes.

The Beatles legend, who picked up an Award for Outstanding contribution to music spoke to AP Entertainment backstage about the continued support he has received from his his fans over his many years in the business.

"I mean since the very earliest days of the Quarry Men through the Beatles through Wings and now through the solo stuff, my fans are just fantastic. They're kind if like family, and that's one of the reasons we love playing because they just give back such warmth, the feedback, that's why you do it, so thank you, thank you fans, I love ya."

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Celebrity, Entertainment
People: Paul McCartney
Locations: London, England, United Kingdom, Western Europe, Europe, United Kingdom, European Union
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: Tilda Swinton, Daniel Day Lewis at Governors Ball
Story No: X05278
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 02/25/2008 12:00 AM
People: Tilda Swinton, Daniel Day Lewis, Hilary Swank, Seal, Heidi Klum, Saoirse Ronan, Viggo Mortensen, Tom Wilkinson, John Travolta, Kelly Preston, Jack Nicholson, Tom Hanks, Glen Hansard, Marketa Irglova, Hugh Welchman, Javier Bardem, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen, Sandy Cohen, George Clooney, Cate Blanchett, Forest Whitaker, Anne Hathaway
Subscription:

original story: 555579

Entertainment LA Governors Ball

Tilda Swinton, Daniel Day Lewis at Governors Ball

LA GOVERNORS 20080225E

25/02/2008

EF08/0216

AP Ent

Los Angeles February 24 2008

English/Nat

Check script for details

SHOTLIST

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, 24 February 2008

1. Pan of Governors Ball entrance

2. Hillary Swank arrives

3. Seal and Heidi Klum arrive

4. Saoirse Ronan arrives

5. Viggo Mortensen arrives

6. Tom Wilkinson arrives

7. John Travolta and Kelly Preston arrive

8. John Stewart set up

9. SOUNDBITE (English) John Stewart, Oscar host:

"It all goes by so damn fast and you're turning around and there's Jack Nicholson and Tom Hanks and all those people but I really think that it was the singer of the Oscar winning song, the woman Marketa coming back out to give her thanks and the two of them backstage just giddy as could be. Just two people giddy as could be about winning."

10. Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova from "Once" arrive

11. Hugh Welchman set up

12. SOUNDBITE (English) Hugh Welchman, director, "Peter and the Wolf, Winner: Best Animated Short Film:

"I just wasn't even nervous. It was just like it was so exciting and I was having so much fun that I just felt over the moon so I didn't even think about the fact that there were eight-hundred million people, which is probably good."

(Q: 'So where are you going to put it? Where's it going to go? Is Peter Jealous?')

"They're going together so Peter meet Oscar, Oscar meet Peter. They've got to make friends because they're going to be sitting on my shelf next to each other in the office"

13. Tilda Swinton set up

14. SOUNDBITE (English) Tilda Swinton, actress:

"I had this reverse Zoolander experience and I had this feeling that someone else's name had been called. I don't know whose...someone called Hilda Minton or something but it just didn't mean anything to me and I'm just sitting there sort of clapping away and then it slowly rolls in like a wave, this terrible truth that I'm going to have to get up and make a fool out of myself in front of a billion people and that I had of course not prepared a thing to say and anyway, don't take me back there. It was a nasty moment man."

15. Javier Bardem arrives

16. Glen Hansard from "Once" greets Daniel Day-Lewis

17. Joel Coen and Ethan Coen arrive

18. Daniel Day Lewis set up

19. SOUNDBITE (English) Daniel Day-Lewis, actor:

"A little different. I wouldn't know how to describe in what way but a little different, I think partly because I was so utterly...what's the word? I can think of the French word, not the English word but I was just utterly turned upside down the first time around. I really didn't know what was happening from one moment to the next. As wonderful as it was in many ways I was utterly bewildered and now I'm still bewildered but just a little less so."

GLITTERING GOVERNORS BALL

The Governors Ball - the official post-Oscar party - was the place to be seen once the Academy Awards were over, with all the major award winners of the night attending.

Best Supporting Actress Tilda Swinton told AP Entertainment of the moment her name was called at the ceremony:

"I had this reverse Zoolander experience and I had this feeling that someone else's name had been called. I don't know whose...someone called Hilda Minton or something but it just didn't mean anything to me, " she explained. "I'm just sitting there sort of clapping away and then it slowly rolls in like a wave, this terrible truth that I'm going to have to get up and make a fool out of myself in front of a billion people and that I had of course not prepared a thing to say."

Best Actor Daniel Day Lewis was still in a state of shock, even though it was his second time around to win an Oscar.

"I was just utterly turned upside down the first time around. I really didn't know what was happening from one moment to the next. As wonderful as it was in many ways I was utterly bewildered and now I'm still bewildered but just a little less so."

The Coen Brothers, the big winners of the evening for "No Country for Old Men" had by far the most coveted table at the ball.

"The table to be at is number 303, " AP writer Sandy Cohen said.

"They have seven Oscars on the table. That's the Coen's table. Javier Bardem is there, the Coen's are there I mean it is a blinged out table but everybody's here. "

Other attendees at the ball included George Clooney, Cate Blanchett, Forest Whitaker, Anne Hathaway and Heidi Klum.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Academy Awards, Celebrity, Short subject films, Movie awards, Movies, Entertainment, Academy Awards, Events
People: Tilda Swinton, Daniel Day Lewis, Hilary Swank, Seal, Heidi Klum, Saoirse Ronan, Viggo Mortensen, Tom Wilkinson, John Travolta, Kelly Preston, Jack Nicholson, Tom Hanks, Glen Hansard, Marketa Irglova, Hugh Welchman, Javier Bardem, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen, Sandy Cohen, George Clooney, Cate Blanchett, Forest Whitaker, Anne Hathaway
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: Leona Lewis discusses conquering America as she tops the Billboard chart
Story No: X05280
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 03/28/2008 12:00 AM
People: Leona Lewis, Clive Davis, Kim Wilde, Simon Cowell, Whitney Houston, Petula Clark
Subscription:

original story: 559315

Entertainment US Leona Lewis

UPDATE Singer discusses conquering America as she tops the Billboard chart

US LEONA 20080328E

28/03/2008

EF08/0333

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, 26th March 2008

English/Nat

Check script for details

SHOTLIST

AP Entertainment

Los Angeles, 26 March 2008

2. SOUNDBITE (English) Leona Lewis:

"Well, it's a big thing to come to America, especially for me, just a little London girl, coming over here, but I've created most of the album here so most of the people that have worked on the album with are from here, as well as a few British and Swedish people too, so it's very important to me to be able to share my music with people here as it was mostly created here, so I'm so glad that I actually got the chance to be able to release it here, and it would just be so huge, so I'm just glad people are supporting it the way they are right now and hopefully they take something away from it."

AP Entertainment - File

Los Angeles, 7th February 2008

3. Wide of Leona Lewis and music producer Clive Davis

4. SOUNDBITE (English) Clive Davis

"Looking out at the music artists that were starting with their first record Leona just stood out so strongly. We'll be releasing her single this week. But already coming from the UK her album has broken the all time debut album history of the U.K."

CHART TOPPING LEWIS

'Bleeding Love', the number one single by singer Leona Lewis, has become the first track by a British woman to top the US pop chart for more than 20 years.

The song was released in the US six weeks ago.

Kim Wilde's hit 'You Keep Me Hangin' On', a cover of the 1987 Supremes hit, was the last track by a UK female artist to top the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

Lewis appeared with her manager Simon Cowell on the Oprah Winfrey show last week to promote her single.

Last year Cowell also negotiated a �5m (Sterling) contract with the man who discovered Whitney Houston, US music mogul Clive Davis.

"Looking out at the music artists that were starting with their first record Leona just stood out so strongly," said Davis. "We'll be releasing her single this week. But already coming from the UK her album has broken the all time debut album history of the U.K."

The X-Factor winner is the third UK solo female artist to reach number one in the Hot 100 with her debut hit.

Petula Clark was the first, with her track 'Downtown' (1965). 'Morning Train' - by Sheena Easton - released in the UK as '9 To 5' - followed in 1981.

Speaking to AP Entertainment on Wednesday (26MAR08) Leona said "it's a big thing to come to America, especially for me, just a little London girl, coming over here, but I've created most of the album here so most of the people that have worked on the album with are from here, as well as a few British and Swedish people too, so it's very important to me to be able to share my music with people here as it was mostly created here."

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Music, Celebrity, Entertainment
People: Leona Lewis, Clive Davis, Kim Wilde, Simon Cowell, Whitney Houston, Petula Clark
Locations: United Kingdom, Western Europe, Europe, United Kingdom, European Union
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: New 007 film car plunges into lake, STILL
Story No: X05282
Source: AP PHOTOS
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 04/20/2008 12:00 AM
People: Daniel Craig
Subscription:

original story: 561956

Italy Bond

New 007 film car plunges into lake, STILL

ITA BOND 20080420Ix

20/04/2008

EF08/0416

AP PHOTOS

Lake Garda, 19 April 2008/File

Natsound/Part Mute

See Script

SHOTLIST:

AP PHOTOS - No Access Canada/For Broadcast use only - Strictly No Access Online or Mobile

1. STILL: Bond car being hoisted out of Lake Garda by a crane, zoom in on car

STORYLINE:

The car being used in the latest James Bond film "Quantum Of Solace" plunged into a lake in northern Italy on Saturday while being driven to the set.

Producers say the driver of the Aston Martin was taken to a hospital with minor injuries.

They say James Bond's iconic car was being delivered to the filming unit in heavy rain on Saturday morning when it went off the road and plunged into Lake Garda.

The smashed black car was later hoisted out of the water by a crane.

"Quantum of Solace" is the newest film in the 007 series.

It stars Daniel Craig and is due for release later this year.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
People: Daniel Craig
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: Cannes Opening Ceremony
Story No: X05283
Source: APTN
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 05/14/2008 12:00 AM
People: Cate Blanchett, Aishwarya Rai, Dennis Hopper, Eva Longoria, Faye Dunaway, Sean Penn, Julianne Moore, Gael Garcia Bernal, Natalie Portman, Danny Glover, Clint Eastwood, Angelina Jolie, Steven Soderbergh, Woody Allen, Penelope Cruz, Scarlett Johansson, Javier Bardem, Ari Folman, Jack Black, Lucy Liu, Dustin Hoffman, Brad Pitt
Subscription:

original story: 564753

Entertainment Cannes Opening Ceremony

ADDS Cate Blanchett, Aishwarya Rai. Red carpet arrivals at Cannes opening ceremony

FRA OPENING 2 20080515E

14/05/2008

EF08/0506

APTN

Cannes, May 14 2008

English/Nat

Check script for details

SHOTLIST

AP Entertainment

Cannes, May 14th 2008

1. WS Pan from festival steps across red carpet

2. Tilt down palm trees to photographers

3. Vars Cate Blanchett

4. Cutaway photographer

5. Fashion shot reverse tilt Cate Blanchett

6. Cate Blanchett posing for the press

7. Cate Blanchett walks up steps

8. MCU Dennis Hopper on red carpet

9. CU Dennis Hopper, zooms out

10. Eva Longoria, Rachida Brachni and Aishwarya Rai arrive on red carpet

11 CU Aishwarya Rai, tilts down to Eva Longoria

12. Fashion shot Aishwarya Rai

13. Eva Longoria waves from steps

14. CU Faye Dunaway

15. MS Sean Penn leads jury on red carpet, pan across jury

16. WS cast of Blindness - including Julianne Moore, Gael Garcia Bernal and Fernando Meirelles - on red carpet

17. VS Julianne Moore, Yoshino Kimura, Gael Garcia Bernal

18. C/a press

19. VS Julianne Moore, pan cast 'Blindness'

20. MS cast 'Blindness'

21. C/a fans

22. WS cast 'Blindness' on steps

23. MS pan cast 'Blindess' on steps, cast turn to in, pulls to WS

RED CARPET AND OPENING CEREMONY

The 61st Cannes Film Festival began Wednesday (14MAY08) with the gala screening of Brazilian director Fernando Meirelles' harrowing new film, 'Blindness'.

The red carpet was a melee of celebrities, including Cate Blanchett, who stars in the most hotly anticipated film due to launch at the festival, ' Indiana Jones and Kingdom of the Crystal Skull '.

The new mother of three looked radiant in shell pink, whilst L'Oreal models Eva Longoria and Aishwarya Rai were also resplendent for the occasion.

All eyes were on the jury, headed up this year by actor Sean Penn, who is joined by the likes of Natalie Portman and director Alfonso Cuaron in deciding the winner of the 2008 Palme D'Or.

The opening film, ' Blindness', stars Mexican superstar Gael Garcia Bernal and Julianne Moore, along with Lethal Weapon star Danny Glover. The film's cast were on the red carpet.

Meirelles, who has directed ' The Constant Gardener ' and ' City of God ' earlier told a press conference that ' Blindness ' was meant to expose the very thin veneer of civilisation that humans have.

In the movie, Julianne Moore plays the only sighted woman in a mental hospital full of people stricken with sudden blindness. She alone sees the accompanying social destruction and mayhem as society loses its sight.

'Blindness' is in competition for the Palme d'Or, along with other entries including Clint Eastwood's "Changeling," starring Angelina Jolie and Wim Wenders' and "Palermo Shooting' starring Dennis Hopper.

Also competing for this year's Palme d'Or are Steven Soderbergh with his film "The Argentine" about "Che" Guevara - starring Benicio Del Toro and and Woody Allen with "Vicky Cristina Barcelona" starring Penelope Cruz, Scarlett Johansson and Javier Bardem."

Other directors whose films are screening in competition include Canada's Armenian-born Atom Egoyan, China's Jia Zhangke, Argentinean director Pablo Trapero, Brazil's Walter Salles, Nuri Bilge Ceylan of Turkey and Israeli director Ari Folman.

'Indiana Jones and Kingdom of the Crystal Skull ' is screening out of competition, as is another hotly anticipated Cannes launch, the animated ' Kung-Fu Panda,' with voices provided by Jack Black, Angelina Jolie, Lucy Liu and Dustin Hoffman,

Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie are expected on the red carpet for the Festival premiere of 'Kung Fu Panda' on Thursday (May 15).

"Changeling," starring Angelina Jolie and Wim Wenders' and "Palermo Shooting' starring Dennis Hopper.

Also competing for this year's Palme d'Or are Steven Soderbergh with his film "The Argentine" about "Che" Guevara - starring Benicio Del Toro and and Woody Allen with "Vicky Cristina Barcelona" starring Penelope Cruz, Scarlett Johansson and Javier Bardem."

Other directors whose films are screening in competition include Canada's Armenian-born Atom Egoyan, China's Jia Zhangke, Argentinean director Pablo Trapero, Brazil's Walter Salles, Nuri Bilge Ceylan of Turkey and Israeli director Ari Folman.

'Indiana Jones and Kingdom of the Crystal Skull ' is screening out of competition, as is another hotly anticipated Cannes launch, the animated ' Kung-Fu Panda,' with voices provided by Jack Black, Angelina Jolie, Lucy Liu and Dustin Hoffman,

Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie are expected on the red carpet for the Festival premiere of 'Kung Fu Panda' on Thursday (May 15).

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Fairs and festivals, Eyes and vision, Celebrity, Recreation and leisure, Lifestyle, Diseases and conditions, Health, Entertainment
People: Cate Blanchett, Aishwarya Rai, Dennis Hopper, Eva Longoria, Faye Dunaway, Sean Penn, Julianne Moore, Gael Garcia Bernal, Natalie Portman, Danny Glover, Clint Eastwood, Angelina Jolie, Steven Soderbergh, Woody Allen, Penelope Cruz, Scarlett Johansson, Javier Bardem, Ari Folman, Jack Black, Lucy Liu, Dustin Hoffman, Brad Pitt
Locations: Indiana, Brazil, United States, North America, South America, Latin America and Caribbean, Turkey
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: Cannes Kung Fu Panda
Story No: X05284
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 05/16/2008 12:00 AM
People: Jack Black, Angelina Jolie, Lucy Liu, Dustin Hoffman, Jackie Chan
Subscription:

original story: 564979

Entertainment Cannes Kung Fu Panda

Panda mania hits Cannes

FRA KUNGFU 20080514E

16/05/2008

EF08/0501

AP Entertainment

Cannes, 14th May 2008

English/Nat

SHOTLIST

AP Entertainment

Cannes, May 14th 2008

1. Wide of pier

2. Pan across Kung Fu Panda poster

3. Wide of Jack Black arriving by boat

4. Cutaway press

5. MCU Jack Black walking down pier

6. Wide of Jack Black on pier with escort of pandas

7. Jack Black performs series of kung-fu moves

8. CU Jack Black performing kung fu

9. Jack Black takes bow and dances on podium

10. Cutaway Jack Black talking to press

JACK BLACK CAUSES 'PANDA' MONIUM AT CANNES

Jack Black kung-fu kicked the Cannes Film Festival off in style on Wednesday (14MAY08) with a stunt to promote his latest movie ' Kung Fu Panda '.

He arrived at the Carlton Hotel pier by boat and skipped down a red carpet surrounded by a score of pandas, before performing a series of comedy kung-fu moves for waiting photographers.

He then embarked on a round of TV interviews, accompanied by a panda friend, while the press pack descended into chaos around him.

After yesterdays downpour, Cannes was once again bathed in hot sunshine, and a sweating Black was frequently dabbed by his make-up artist as he spoke to journalists.

Kung Fu Panda is the latest animation from Dreamworks studio. Black plays a slacker panda called Po who's a massive Kung Fu fan.

Unexpectedly chosen to fulfil an ancient prophecy, Po's dreams become reality when he joins the world of Kung Fu and studies alongside his idols, the legendary Furious Five -- Tigress, Crane, Mantis, Viper and Monkey -- under the leadership of their guru, Master Shifu.

Other A list stars lending their voices to the film include Angelina Jolie, Lucy Liu, Dustin Hoffman and Jackie Chan.

Black had plenty to say about life at the festival for a movie star:

"Many years ago there was a party at the top of French mountaintop, it was a French mountain top and there was looking at the gorgeous lights down below. I can't go into too many details about who was there partying and who was being partied with, but suffice to say it was pretty wild, pretty sexy."

A natural comedian, Black admitted that he had been hired for the pier stunt as he was always ready to make a fool out of himself: "Maybe that's what separates me from the rest is that I'm willing to totally humiliate myself," he joked.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Sports films, Celebrity, Sports, Sports films, Movies, Entertainment
People: Jack Black, Angelina Jolie, Lucy Liu, Dustin Hoffman, Jackie Chan
Show story thumbnails
Entertainment Review 2008
Title:
SD
Summary: Harrison Ford premieres Indiana Jones in Cannes
Story No: X05285
Source: AP Entertainment
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Date: 05/19/2008 12:00 AM
People: Harrison Ford, Natalie Portman, Michael Moore, Goldie Hawn, Paz Vega, Salma Hayek, Billy Zane, Kelly Brook, Shia LaBeouf, Steven Spielberg, Calista Flockhart, George Lucas
Subscription:

original story: 565245

Entertainment France Indiana Jones

Harrison Ford premieres eagerly awaited movie in Cannes

FRA INDI 20080518E

19/05/2008

EF08/0523

AP Entertainment

Cannes - 18 May 2008

English/Nat

SHOTLIST

1. Tracking shot of fans

2. Close of sign reading (english) ''I flew 3671 miles to see Indy, Please sign!''

3. Woman passing out Indiana Jones hats

4. Wide of Cannes sign

5. Wide of Cannes sign with tilt down to red carpet

6. Close of Actress Natalie Portman

7. Camera of cameras

8. Close of Portman with zoom out to other actresses

9. Close of Director Michael Moore

10. Tilt up of woman in silver dress

11. Close of Actress Goldie Hawn

12. Close of Actress Paz Vega

13. Close of actress Salma Hayek

14. Cutaway of cameras

15. Billy Zane and Kelly Brook

16. Shia LaBeouf, Steven Spielberg, Harrison Ford and Calista Flockhart

INDI's BACK - AFTER AN ABSENCE OF ALMOST 20 YEARS, AND READY FOR THE 4TH INSTALLMENT OF NON STOP ACTION

Forget that famous whip and rugged attire.

Harrison Ford and his fellow cast members were all glam at the premiere of their film, 'Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull' at the Cannes Film Festival on Sunday.

The cast was joined by the likes of Natalie Portman, Michael Moore, Goldie Hawn and Billy Zane who was accompanied by Kelly Brook.

Ford walked the red carpet with his leading lady, actress Calista Flockhart.

Director Steven Spielberg was joined by wife Kate Capshaw, and George Lucas walked the carpet with his significant other.

In the fourth instalment of 'Indiana Jones,' Indy is in search of the coveted Crystal Skull.

Along the way, he teams up with a youngster named Mutt played by Shia LaBeouf.

Together Indy and Mutt take on the Soviets who are lead by the evil Irina Spalko and are also in search of the Crystal Skull.

The last 'Indiana Jones' film was released 19-years ago.

At a news conference, the star of the film, Ford told reporters that he felt ''very gratified to be part of the industry.

"The way I see it, we are story tellers and we require that they want to hear the stories we tell, or we're are out of luck and out of business," he said.

"I am very gratified that there has been a consistent interest in this character and the films," he added.

Director Steven Spielberg, was also on hand and said that he was in his ''dark period'' and wanted to change from making ''depressing historical dramas and making movies with meaning.''

"I made "Jurassic Park and went gee whiz, wow I forgot that feeling, that felt really good," he said.

'Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull' opens in U.S. theatres on 22 May.

The cast is set to fly to New York for another premiere later this week.

Expand shotlist extract
Minimize shotlist extract
Subjects: Celebrity, Movie premieres, Entertainment, Movies
People: Harrison Ford, Natalie Portman, Michael Moore, Goldie Hawn, Paz Vega, Salma Hayek, Billy Zane, Kelly Brook, Shia LaBeouf, Steven Spielberg, Calista Flockhart, George Lucas
Locations: Indiana, United States, North America
Show story thumbnails

Displaying 1 - 10 of 31 results

 
Share Story
 
*
*
*
 

You have successfully shared item(s).
Share
Cancel
Close
 
Message Box

OK
No
Yes